1st Blog Birthday: A Big Thank You + An Accidental Skirt

I find it hard to believe that I have only been blogging for one year! It’s become such an important hobby for my, I have got so much fun, encouragement and knowledge out of the interaction with all you lovely sewing people. And my sewing has come on in leaps and bounds since I found sewing blogs a little over a year ago!

So I would like to say a big Thank You to the online sewing community, to those who blog, to those who follow my blog and to those who have taken the time to interact with me. You have made my year!

IMG_7504Of course a blog birthday would be nothing without a garment to celebrate it – enter The Accidental Skirt.

IMG_7507

I bought the fabric on ebay off a seller who clearly had a stash to reduce. It only cost me a few euros and I had no idea what to make with it when I first bought it (because I had “actually” bid on a different fabric and this one only came as an afterthought. That DOES happen to all of us, doesn’t it?
Doesn’t it???)

But when I was sat in my telly armchair I realised that pleating away the dark stripes could be a fun idea – and that’s all of the design. I just pleated in such a way that the black vertical stripes are hidden inside the pleat which is stitched closed for about 5cm. A skinny waistband on top, an invisible zip in the side seam and Bob’s your uncle – ahem – skirt.

IMG_7510Not much more to be said about this. No great feat of sewing, but I think I will like it. Especially because I really like yellow as a colour, but it really, REALLY does not go with my skin tone at all. Having it in a skirt rather than next to my face makes me able to wear a bit of yellow and not look like death warmed up.

Because it’s my blog birthday I’m sure you’ll forgive me this slightly gratuitous shot:

IMG_7520Happy spring to everybody in the North! A glorious autumn to everyone in the South.

And happy sewing to everybody!

Tagged: , ,

11 thoughts on “1st Blog Birthday: A Big Thank You + An Accidental Skirt

  1. Rebecca April 2, 2014 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Happy Blogiversary! Love your skirt- really pretty! Love the way you worked the pleats 🙂

    • Chris April 2, 2014 at 11:58 pm Reply

      Thank you!

  2. jennyrecorder April 3, 2014 at 1:33 am Reply

    The fabric is lovely and so is the skirt, happy blogoversary 🙂 … and yes, it is a lovely autumn in Oz (27 degrees today).

  3. cathynd95 April 3, 2014 at 3:52 am Reply

    What a great skirt! Happy blogaversery!

  4. Nurse Bennett April 3, 2014 at 4:17 am Reply

    What a lovely job you did! Love the colors of the fabric and I also love the style. It’s very flattering on you. Happy blogaversary!

  5. I made it!! April 3, 2014 at 5:44 am Reply

    Happy Blogaversary! And your skirt looks lovely! (Love your blog by the way!)

  6. Amanda April 3, 2014 at 7:15 am Reply

    That looks great! Nice pleats and gorgeous fabric!

  7. Emma Jayne April 3, 2014 at 7:35 am Reply

    Happy blogging anniversary. Loving the daffodil photograph – nothing to forgive.

  8. Marianne April 3, 2014 at 9:27 am Reply

    Thank you for showing all those lovely makes and for every time one of your posts made me laugh. Happy new blogging year!

  9. Anne W April 3, 2014 at 3:51 pm Reply

    Happy blog-birthday!

  10. joselinahuber8 April 6, 2014 at 7:16 pm Reply

    Happy to see you new creation. Your creativity pay off, your skirt looks great. Happy blogging. I just got by blog started. However, I have only posted one picture of a Hawaiian skirt I made a few weeks ago.
    Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

