Burdastyle 3/2013 #102 : My First Blazer

I started working on this pattern when it first came out last year – and it ended up in pure disaster due to a combination of poor choice of fabric, lack of skill and too much said&done-bravado.

20131229_180932

So after sitting on the blazer naughty step for the best part of a year I tried again and made it through to the finish line this time:

IMG_6700

I would only really wear a blazer to work (it’s not warm enough to be worn as a jacket unless it’s really warm, and then I kinda get … too warm to wear a jacket…), and because I like to avoid chalk stains at the bottoms of my sleeves when I work on the board in the classroom I often turn my sleeves up. So I thought it might be a fun idea to add contrast lining for the turn ups. I regret that choice a little bit now as I prefer the lining for the body, but it’s in and done now. I have however now changed the button to a simple blue button.

IMG_6697

I used a wool mix twill which sewed up beautifully but it creases like a terrible thing. My rubbishness at pressing is well documented in so many photos on this blog, so having a creasy fabric is not a good thing for me…

IMG_6696Onwards and upwards – love that lining!

IMG_6704This is probably a bit silly, but I just love my labels, and this one got special treatment. So I can never wear this blazer buttoned anyway because I need to look at my label 🙂

IMG_6699Overall I am quite pleased with my first real blazer. I have worn it a few times now and I like it enough to think about making a summer version of the pattern. In fact I had the fabric waiting to be cut when April’s Burda threw this in the ring:

 
It is a little shorter than the version I made and the back has a split vent which I rather like, so I might make this one next.
IMG_6702In the meantime I am enjoying the beginning of spring – see, I got too hot for wearing a blazer already 🙂
Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Burdastyle 3/2013 #102 : My First Blazer

  1. Nakisha March 28, 2014 at 3:31 am Reply

    Yes! We should make that blazer together!! 🙂

    Love the jacket. LOVE the labels! Nice work

    • Chris March 29, 2014 at 10:17 pm Reply

      I think we totally should! It’s top of my pile of patterns to get traced.

  2. thesimpleseamstress March 28, 2014 at 5:09 am Reply

    The lining is fun and cute! Great work! I have yet to tackle a blazer pattern myself because I typically stick to dresses! Seeing this post has inspired me to look at blazer patterns!

  3. I made it!! March 28, 2014 at 5:26 am Reply

    I do love the lining. And your label! Your weather looks beautiful. We are having intermittent sun and rain still!

    • Chris March 29, 2014 at 10:16 pm Reply

      Thanks! Yeah, we are having the most beautiful sunny spring ever! Awesome.

  4. goodpurlgonebad March 28, 2014 at 9:48 am Reply

    Well done, that’s great! I’m impressed that you went back to a troublesome project too.
    I’m still torn about attempting my first Burdastyle project, the blogging world is littered with sad tales of first ever Burdastyle makes. Some of their patterns are so lovely though, including both the blazer ones you posted. What fabric do you have in mind for the next one?

    • Chris March 29, 2014 at 10:15 pm Reply

      I would really encourage to try a Burdastyle project. If fact I have only just completed my first ever Big 4 project and to be honest that is not a very happy tale either, so maybe one needs to give new pattern companies a little time…
      I have a white boucle and a medium blue “I don’t know how to describe it but it’s quite wonderful” fabric waiting for a blazer. Unfortunately both of them are not enough for what this model wants, so I need to see whether I can squeeze it out.

      • goodpurlgonebad March 30, 2014 at 11:48 am

        I love those delightful fabrics that defy description:) I hope you can find a way to having enough.
        Thank you for the encouragement. It is just a skirt with a ruffled lining, with waistband and zip. The pattern does have pockets but I’d skip those as I have a very light fabric in mind. If it was a big 4 pattern I wouldn’t think twice about sewing it, oddly enough.

  5. Sewingelle March 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm Reply

    Your jacket is great and I love the linings.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

