London Fabric Shopping: Useful Advice?

Life is treating my kindly these days – I will have a chance to travel to London very shortly and while the main purpose of the trip is to show my daughter the delights of London together with a visit to the O2 to see the inimitable Miranda, rest assured that some fabric shopping will be done.
So this is where I would like to ask your advice: Where should I go?

So far I know of

Do you think there are any other/better places to go and visit?

There are a few restrictions:

  • I’m flying Ryan Air, so I can’t buy huge amounts
  • I don’t really need anything, strictly speaking, so I might want to “concentrate” on summer dress type fabrics
  • no long travelling as daughter will have to tag along – and you all know how strict she is with me. So were are looking at Central London shops I guess.
  • If I only have time for either the Goldhawk Road or Walthamstow Market, which one should I pick?

So if you know of any super special London fabric shops I would love to know!

Thanks,

Chris x

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “London Fabric Shopping: Useful Advice?

  1. sewbusylizzy March 16, 2014 at 12:55 am Reply

    Berwick Road has some lovely, although more expensive, shops. Liberty is worth a visit, it’s just beautiful.

    • Chris March 17, 2014 at 11:19 am Reply

      Yeah, I think Liberty is on my snooping around list (though probably not on my shopping list…)

  2. Valerie March 18, 2014 at 10:27 am Reply

    Mac Culloch and Wallis, at 25 Dering St just near Oxford Circus tube station is well worth a visit. It’s the sort of place where it pays to know what you are looking for then asking for assistance. It’s always full of design students. Sells fabric online too.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

