McCalls 6833 Wearable Muslin: Do My Boobs Look Pointy In This?

Remember I told you some time ago that my husband would do some sewing related shopping for me in the US. Well, he’s back and I have loads of new fabrics and also (due to the throes of indecision) the grand total of one new pattern: McCalls 6833.

Many of you were kind enough to give me some advice regarding Big 4 patterns as this is my first time of using one and the biggest point was that Big 4 patterns tend to come up rather large. Taking this to heart I took my measurements, ended up as a 14/16 up top and 16 for the waist and decided to cut the 14. I used a ponte knit just to be on the safe side in case the 14 would have been a little tight. Turns out I need not have worried, the 14 was plenty big enough – in fact too big around the bust by far, so I took it in back to what a 12 would have been.

IMG_7489

I made view D, the version with short sleeves and the semi-fitted skirt.

M6833

Because this is a wearable muslin I left the collar off – it really is the feature that drew me to the dress in the first place, but I did not have a suitable contrasting fabric in my stash and figured I could wear the dress as is a few times just to see how I get on with it before I cut into the intended fashion fabric, a rather lush linen silk blend paisley jacquard. I did not line this muslin and only finished the edges by turning over and finishing with the coverstitch machine.

IMG_7494

 

IMG_7499

No peeps, I am not pregnant, not at my age! It must be the way I am standing. I will suck my tummy in next time I have my picture taken. I must have concentrated so much on pulling a face that tummy control went the way of all earthly things… 😉

 

All in all I’m happy enough with the dress, but not overwhelmed so far. The pattern did not cause any problems, the instructions were delightful I am sure – but as a committed Burda user I did not really look, the amount of pictures almost overwhelmed me. For my final version I think I might make the sleeves a touch longer and I am thinking of making the skirt a tulip shape rather than the half-and-half pencil style of the original.

I ended up with one problem, though: Pointy boob syndrome:

IMG_7492

Somehow the placement of the dart is wrong, or the bodice is too large over the top of the bust or some such thing and I ended up with pointy darts.

What looks like a little problem on the picture (and certainly nobody commented on my pointy boobs when I wore the dress this week, and I spend my working day with 20 year olds who are VERY outspoken) seems like a problem of Himalayan proportions to me. I have to point out that the dart still has the size 14 position because I stupidly cut it open before checking for fit on the finished dress so I can’t change its placement anymore. For future versions I will use the size 12 placement of the dart and I also think I need to lower it a little as my boobs don’t seem to be quite as perky as the dart placement has them.

But does anybody have any advice as to what I could do to amend the problem on this muslin? I kinda tried to change the dart stitching line in a rather haphazard fashion, but none of that did anything to make things better. Any advice is – as always – greatly appreciated. And if you want to make any pointy boob related jokes in the comments, feel free as well 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

18 thoughts on “McCalls 6833 Wearable Muslin: Do My Boobs Look Pointy In This?

  1. ThreadTime March 14, 2014 at 11:14 pm Reply

    Lovely dress. You did a beautiful job. I wonder if the shoulder needs to be shortened to pull that up?? Maybe try a shoulder pad just to see if that pulls that wrinkle out of there.

    Another thought is the bodice may be a bit too long from bust/underarm to the rib seam??

    I struggle with fitting issues, so I could be totally off base. I’ve got to say this dress is almost perfect. Well done!
    Ramona

    • Chris March 15, 2014 at 12:34 pm Reply

      Thank you! I too was wondering whether I should shorted the bodice a little. If I took around 1cm off the bottom then the pointy bit of the dart would come a little lower, thus amending the exaggerated perkiness issue. I think I’m gonna have to bite the bullet and rip out all the topstitching I did underneath the bust seam… Oh well – better late then never, I suppose…

  2. I made it!! March 15, 2014 at 6:52 am Reply

    I don’t have a clue! Sorry! I think you look great in that colour though! As I was reading I couldn’t stop thinking about “pointy boob jokes”, then when you said feel free to comment, my mind went blank!

    • Chris March 15, 2014 at 12:31 pm Reply

      aaah, what a shame. I like a good pointy boob joke!! 😉

  3. Emma Jayne March 15, 2014 at 7:05 am Reply

    Hurray Hubby’s home with your sewing presents! I enjoy a bit of ‘guess the fitting issue fix’! I would start with shortening the dart and rotating it to point upwards a little. There’s also a small ripple of fabric above the dart so if the first trick didn’t work, I might try a FBA (but only add a little bit of extra room).

    • Chris March 15, 2014 at 12:30 pm Reply

      Thanks for the tip. This is kinda what i thought I might try for the definitive version. I will start with the lining when I next get a change, that will be my hopefully wearable muslin for the final dress.
      Funny how a little mistake like this dart can annoy the hell out of me. I don’t think anybody else has even noticed, even when I tried to show them…

  4. sewbusylizzy March 15, 2014 at 10:45 am Reply

    I have seen people change the straight shape of a dart to a more curved shape which seems to help – google curved bust dart and see if you can find a tutorial on it.
    I never use the body measurements for big 4. I work from the finished measurements which are in the pattern itself. Them figure out how much ease I need based on the fabric type or fit of the dress.

    • Chris March 15, 2014 at 12:28 pm Reply

      I think a curved bust dart might be an excellent idea – and so simple! Thanks for the tip, I really should have thought of it myself…
      Having the finished measurements of the garment is something I am not used to (because Burda don’t publish theirs) so I overlooked the whole concept. But of course that is just what to do. I checked: The dress in my supposed size has 8!! inches of ease across the hips. I can’t see how anybody can want that much ease in a semi-fitted skirt…

      • sewbusylizzy March 15, 2014 at 12:45 pm

        The ease in Big 4 is insane. I always ignore the ‘sizes’ and just work on finished measurements, it rarely fails.

  5. Annette March 15, 2014 at 7:15 pm Reply

    I know your frustration. I made a dress for an activity at my sons’ school a few years ago and had a days notice, so no muslin. I ended up with the same pointy boob syndrome. I wore a sweater, which may have made it worse. I wore it that once. It is sitting in the UFOs.

    I might try sewbusylizzy’s advice and change it to a curved dart.

  6. MontanaDesigns March 15, 2014 at 7:30 pm Reply

    Hi there! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award http://montanadesigns.wordpress.com/2014/03/15/liebster-award-nom/

  7. joselinahuber8 March 18, 2014 at 8:12 am Reply

    Hiu,

    Your dress looks great. As far pointy boobs. I have similar issues. As a beginner sewer( few years back). I made a summer dress and the darts were way too high. Like you I was unable to change. I wore the dress anyway… One of my sisters joke that the dart was in the wrong place. I remember saying. ” No, the darts are on the right place”. I made the dress with plans to grow more boobs. Indeed I have….now I am a size 34. My point is this, most American patterns are designed for at least a size 34 cup.
    Thanks for sharing.

  8. […] used the leftovers of the pointy boob dress, which is now at the back of the fix-it-queue after I have thrown more expletives at those pointy […]

  9. […] the front bodice dart from a standard vertical dart to a “princess dart”. After the disaster I had with my pointy boob dress I was really wary of this type of dart and to be fair it was actually almost fine on this dress as […]

  10. […] unblogged but hopefully I will get round to this soon. This is my second attempt at conquering the pointy boob dress, but this time I added a circle skirt rather than a straight skirt. I spent a whole day’s […]

  11. […] work at all on this version and the bodice was a complete loss. So I thought I could give the pointy boob bodice another try – but in spite of much thinking, redrawing of darts etc it still looked pointy. I […]

  12. Galica Creates March 26, 2015 at 12:13 pm Reply

    The slapdash seamstress has (somewhere) a blog post about the sba. Which is like an fba but in the opposite direction. It may be that this is what you need?

    From my experience this would be a fairly easy pattern to sba, because there are so many points in the top part of the pattern where you could reduce the volume.

    I have to say though, given the general level of fit in ready to wear, that probably no-one who doesn’t sew has even noticed.

    Really good colour on you by the way 🙂

  13. Galica Creates March 26, 2015 at 12:21 pm Reply

    Gah!
    the Slapdash Sewist!! (Not the selfish seamstress.)

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

