Burdastyle 2/2014 # 109: Strawberry Skirts Forever

Miss Bossy over at The Monthly Stitch told me to make this skirt in March – but she also added  that after I had finished my homework I might use my favourite fabric of the moment to make another skirt. And so I did!

IMG_7485

Yes, it has strawberries all over! It might not be wise, but I love it.

IMG_7484

I had originally thought to make a pencil skirt, but over since Burda came out with this denim style skirt I knew this was the one for the strawberries.

There is not much to say about the pattern, Burdastyle 2/2014 # 109:

It’s a straight forward jeans style skirt, Burdastyle has several length and I used the longest length, just above the knee (I achieved this by lengthening the standard pattern by 5cm, my usual “alteration”). I cut a size 40 and graded out to a size 42 over the hip and upper thigh area. It came together without any incidence and after all my good jeans sewing practice of the last few months I did not even have to look at the instructions. I made the waistband using pre-cut interfacing, do you know the stuff that has the seam allowance and centre seam already perforated? I have to say I was not thrilled with this. The interfacing would have resulted in a 5 cm high waistband that is very stiff and inflexible and I found this uncomfortable and just a bit out of proportion. So I just reduced the height to about 3cm and I am much happier with this. I still think I will cut my own interfacing in future, even for a straight waistband as I don’t like the stiffness of the pre-perforated stuff so much.

The sewing of this skirt turned out to be very timely as we have had an unusally early and warm beginning to spring and I was able to wear the skirt twice already!

Here is me looking into the middle distance, as suggested by my teenage daughter:

IMG_7479Well, what would she say about this picture? Something like “Stop trying mum”, I think. How about you? Are you a natural when it comes to having your pictures taken? Or is it only second to going to the dentist like it is for me?

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Burdastyle 2/2014 # 109: Strawberry Skirts Forever

  1. Chris March 11, 2014 at 11:37 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on The Monthly Stitch and commented:

    Having completed the homework Miss Bossy set for me I made up the skirt that came second on my Miss Bossy list. Here is a reblog from my original post. Hope that complies with the TMS rules. 🙂

  2. Nakisha March 12, 2014 at 5:41 am Reply

    Very cute skirt AND nice pics 🙂

  3. Anonymous March 12, 2014 at 11:17 pm Reply

    Lovely skirt

  4. I made it!! March 13, 2014 at 4:54 am Reply

    Lovely skirt and lovely photos! I do not like having my picture taken. I try really hard not to have my face in my blog! So far I am winning! Haha

    • Chris March 13, 2014 at 10:05 am Reply

      I thought about keeping my face out of my blog too. But then I decided that well, that is what I look like, so suck it up readers 😉 . I just wish my photos would look more like what I feel like…

  5. Laurie March 14, 2014 at 2:06 am Reply

    Awesome skirt!!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

