Miss Bossy, are you skirting the issue?

Maybe you know that over at The MOnthly Stitch we get a new sewing challenge every months. In March we are to make a pattern that has been in our stash for a while but has never been made – but to make things a little more interesting we have you decide which pattern we get to make. After February, which was Pants Month, I thought I might make March Skirt Month, so I would like to propose three skirts patterns:

1. Burdastyle 2/2014 #106 and pastelly lemon coloured wool

IMG_6849IMG_6848

I like the skirt for the pleated detail around the waist – unfortunately the magazine pictures doesn’t even show the unique selling point of this skirt. Burdastyle layouters, what’s up with you?
The picture doesn’t do the fabric justice: it is a very light pastel lemon colour which I originally wanted to make into a blazer. But because it makes me very washed out right next to my face I think it might work better as a skirt.

IMG_6852

2. Burdastyle 2/2014 # 109 with strawberry denim

This is basically the long version of the Moss mini skirt, just a simple straight jeans-style skirt. I think it would be very versatile and could be made up in different length, although for Miss Bossy I would make the just above the knee-length like on the picture:

IMG_685020140102_152423I would pair this with my most favourite fabric at the moment, strawberry on white stretch denim.

3. Burdastyle 3/2014 117 #  with crazy triangle Ikea fabric

IMG_6815This still has the front zip and button closure but is pleated at the front for a more elegant look:

IMG_6821

While elegance is great, my result might be more mad than great, because I plan to use this fabric from Ikea’s home section:

IMG_6851

So Miss Bossy, what’s it to be:

I’ve tried my best with the poll, but if it doesn’t work for you for some reason, please just give your vote in the comments and I will add it to the end result. The poll is open for one week, until 1 March.

Tagged: , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Miss Bossy, are you skirting the issue?

  1. anniehanks February 22, 2014 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Great choices.

  2. My Sewing Suite February 22, 2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

    I voted for your favorite fabric, the strawberry denim. They are all great choices.

  3. Emma Jayne February 22, 2014 at 6:17 pm Reply

    Sorry… I voted by fabric instead of pattern. I used the same triangle fabric for a skirt last year and get loads of comments. It’s gotta be done.

    • Chris February 23, 2014 at 12:05 am Reply

      In fact it must have been your version that made me move the triangle fabric from the home to the apparel pile! And if it’s gotta be done, it’s gotta be done!

  4. Rebecca February 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm Reply

    Love the pleating on the burda skirt- so that’s where my vote went! Can’t wait to see what you make 🙂

  5. Wendy February 22, 2014 at 7:00 pm Reply

    My vote is in, I went with the pleated skirt! Lovely details on the front!

  6. Marianne February 22, 2014 at 7:05 pm Reply

    Since Burda doesn’t show us the interesting details on the pleated waist skirt my hopes are on you!

  7. rebeccadoe February 22, 2014 at 8:23 pm Reply

    The pleated one, definitely! I’m excited to see the details.
    Herzliche Grüße,
    rebecca

  8. ltinuviel February 22, 2014 at 9:25 pm Reply

    Great choices 🙂 I should look better this pleated skirt 🙂

  9. sleepyerin February 23, 2014 at 8:55 am Reply

    My vote was another one motivated by fabric. Fruit clothes for everyone!

  10. Gjeometry February 23, 2014 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Oooh, yes, I love that first skirt pattern a lot and I think it would look so delicate and lovely with the pale yellow fabric.

  11. shawnta715 February 24, 2014 at 4:06 am Reply

    Love the design lines on #1! Hopefully that is the one that wins out in the end.

  12. ThreadTime February 24, 2014 at 5:08 am Reply

    I REALLY wanted to vote for the pleated skirt in the Ikea fabric…how awesome is that fabric?!! But I had to go with the yellow wool. It sounds beautiful.
    Have fun,
    Ramona

  13. Gail February 28, 2014 at 6:41 am Reply

    I’m all for one in yellow wool. As for the Ikea fabric, it is awesome, but I was a little frightened of it.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

