By Hand London: Georgia Finished!

If you have read a few posts in this blog you will have realised that I get excited quite easily, maybe a bit too easily. Usually, the excitement wears off after a while – but not so with the Georgia, I absolutely love, love, LOVE it!

The By Hand London girls are doing a sewalong at the moment, so there is no need to give any construction details here, so tadaaa: the photos.

IMG_6795

IMG_6798IMG_6797

I am not usually confident with bust-hugging dresses – I feel I lack the vavavoom to pull them off. But a quick check confirmed that the girls are still there:

IMG_6806Phew, thank God for that!

IMG_6810

A few thoughts about the dress:

  • I made up the bodice in a 10 (my measurements put me in a 12, but that would have been the first time I could fill a 12 😉 ) and graded the skirt out to a 14, again as per my measurements. The skirt is quite loose now, so next time I would probably only grade to a 12. I still might take it in a little bit, but it is actually quite comfortable as loose as it is.
  • I added about 5cm to the knee length as I did not know what height the pattern is drafted for. I think I could lose those 5cm again, but I will wait to make up my mind when I have worn it a few times.
  • Obviously, the best thing about the dress is the bodice, but in fact the thing I like best are the straps. They are just the right compromise between skinny and supportive and they give complete bra strap coverage with out the  need for any speciality undergarment, a definite plus I think.
  • Another version in a light denim is already in my queue – can’t wait for weather that actually makes it appropriate to wear it.
  • I’m already imagining other version: a longer babydoll version like on the BHL blog, maybe a version with godets between the skirt seams to make the bottom wider, in a knee length or even a maxi? Or maybe the bodice until the waistline and then a gathered skirt? Or a tulip skirt? I think all of those would look great. And because the bodice comes together really quickly (there are only three parts and not darts or other fiddly bits) it is a really fun project.
  • I added ready-made piping to the straps and bustline, which gives lots of scope for extra ideas:

IMG_6790

So altogether the Georgia is a complete win for me. My first ever independent pattern (I’ve only ever used Burda otherwise) and I thoroughly recommend it to anybody.

So have you made a Georgia? Or are you planning to?

Tagged: , , ,

15 thoughts on “By Hand London: Georgia Finished!

  1. Amanda February 13, 2014 at 7:41 pm Reply

    It looks fab and a great fit! I am getting a BHL Anna dress pattern for my birthday this weekend! I am looking forward to finding the fabric for it!

    • Chris February 13, 2014 at 11:50 pm Reply

      That sounds really exciting. Though sometimes I tend to find it really hard to find fabric for a specific pattern – normally I don’t suffer from fabric-buying-shyness 😉 .
      Enjoy your search!

  2. Pella February 13, 2014 at 10:52 pm Reply

    Terrific fit, it looks great!

  3. sewbusylizzy February 13, 2014 at 11:46 pm Reply

    This is just FABULOUS! I also graded my skirt out but really didn’t need to, Georgia is quite forgiving of our hips.
    Definitely make a denim one, I think I’m going to make it again in black sparkly denim, the weight & stretch of denim really is perfect for this pattern.

    • Chris February 13, 2014 at 11:52 pm Reply

      Thank you! I’m in a complete Georgia frenzy at the moment, I want to make everything into a Georgia… Your plan for No 2 sounds perfect!

      • sewbusylizzy February 14, 2014 at 6:01 am

        I love that feeling of obsession when every fabric you see becomes a potential Georgia or whatever you are obsessing about. I suffered that with Cambies for months!

  4. Neeno - Sew Me Love February 14, 2014 at 12:01 am Reply

    OMG a swishy MAXI would be awesome!!! I think I might give that a go this week! I was going to make another ANNA maxi, but I think I’ll do a maxi now!

  5. littlestonecottage February 14, 2014 at 7:08 pm Reply

    Wow, it looks fantastic, what a great dress! I’m in process of muslin for mine- making the other version with thicker straps.

    • Chris February 15, 2014 at 1:02 am Reply

      oooh – do post pictures of the finished dress!

  6. SeeKatSew February 15, 2014 at 9:01 am Reply

    That’s a really nice dress!! The fabric so pretty. I hope you make your denim version…NOW! I can’t wait to see more of them.

  7. Gail February 15, 2014 at 10:35 am Reply

    I think this bodice is made for a maxi skirt. Love your latest version.

  8. Marianne February 16, 2014 at 7:30 pm Reply

    Fabulous dress!

  9. velosewer February 19, 2014 at 5:59 am Reply

    I really love how the bodice hugs the bits that need hugging. Great dress. I can see why you’re going to make another one:)

  10. Penny Dresses & Me March 31, 2014 at 2:35 am Reply

    This is absolutely gorgeous Chris! You look stunning!

  11. […] on from my slightly hysterical excitement about my first Georgia I suppose no-one is surprised I made another. In fact I had plans for months, but only got the […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

