A quick review of Burdastyle 3/2014

I am still too excited to write a post about the Georgia dress that could be in any way intelligible, so in the meantime I thought I post a quick review of the latest issue of Burdastyle, which arrived in my letterbox today, one day ahead of the official publication date here in Germany. So you might well hear it from me first 😉 .
There are quite a few nice patterns in there, have a look at this:
# 108

IMG_6818IMG_6823

I really like this, it looks like separates on the front but is a dress in the back. Adds an extra little something to a simple shift dress, I guess this could look intriguing as a colour block dress. They made it up as a simple wedding dress too.

#101, 102, 103

IMG_6812IMG_6824This is right up my street, especially this boucle version! They have three different lengths, two blazers and a coat which actually looks really nice in the magazine as well.

# 120

IMG_6816IMG_6820This  I am properly excited about! I love the wrap style top and the pencil skirt, I think this could look really good, even in a solid. I am not so sure about the pleated sleeves, I think making up these pleats is an accident waiting to happen, but the pleat detail could easily be folded out. I’m not sure I need a dress like this in my life, but the pattern certainly gets a lot of love from me.

#117IMG_6815IMG_6821A great basic, I think. I like the pleated front on simple pencil skirt, makes them a bit more every-day-wearable than a very tight pencil skirt. Also the just below the knee-length is my favourite length, so I wouldn’t put it past me to make this very soon.

#107

IMG_6813IMG_6819

I kinda like the line drawing of this, a simple dress with a little bit of interest. The made up dress does not tell you anything because the fabric is so busy – please, Burda people, let us see what those garments actually look like!! I am on the fence re the elasticated waist, so I am not sure whether this might be an actual option.

#112

IMG_6814Some simple track suit bottoms (which, ridiculously, they style for three different looks in the magazine! What silly kind of idea is that?) But I need new track suit bottoms (of sporty purposes rather than fashion apparel, I hasten to add, so this pattern comes in handy.

There are another few good patterns in there, for example some properly skin-tight skinny jeans which my daughter made nice sounds about, but LOOK AT THIS: This has me make all sorts of undignified squeaking and squealing noises every time I look at it:

IMG_6825

Crochet bunnies!! The pink one is full child size!! And aren’t I in luck: I am a new aunt, so I WILL crochet a bunny! Not the full size one, my niece’s mum would kill me, but the little one is darling, don’t you think?

So what do you think? Have you seen anything that interests you in these pictures or anywhere else? Do tell!

Tagged: , ,

13 thoughts on “A quick review of Burdastyle 3/2014

  1. Rosi February 11, 2014 at 11:41 pm Reply

    Ich hab heute auch die neueste Burda aus dem Briefkasten geholt. Also : sind schon einige interessante Sachen drin. Mir gefällt wirklich sehr gut das Kleid 120 und mit dem Retro-Mantel 103 . Auch die Jogginghose finde ich vom Schnitt toll, nur kann man mit ihr wirklich das Haus verlassen ? Die Five-Pocket-Hose ist auch ganz hübsch, ich würde sie aber unten nicht so eng machen. Ja und die Bluse 106 würde ich auch ganz gern nähen wollen, aber nicht so kurz. Dann hab ich noch den Tulpenrock im Blick, hoffe nur das die aufspringenden Falten nicht zu sehr auftragen.
    Im Großen und Ganzen finde ich die Märzausgabe ganz gut.

  2. Gail February 11, 2014 at 11:44 pm Reply

    Burda designs can be a bit repetitive, but I enjoy the magazines for the styling and presentation too. There are some great looks here.

  3. Fabric, Thread, Clothes? February 12, 2014 at 2:09 am Reply

    Thanks for the preview!!!

  4. joselinahuber8 February 12, 2014 at 3:52 am Reply

    Aloha,
    I love the dress(108), how cleaver of them… looks like it is a two piece garment into one. I also love the brazer(120) the most user friendly and wearable in Hawaii the skirt(107).
    Thanks for sharing
    Mahalo from Josie

  5. sewbusylizzy February 12, 2014 at 12:53 pm Reply

    Oh that wrap/pencil dress is all kinds of fabulous. I’ve only just got February so I’ll be waiting for a while!

    • Chris February 13, 2014 at 9:29 am Reply

      well, it migh well make a great autumn dress, so you might be in with a chance 🙂

  6. Mrs. Smith February 13, 2014 at 5:04 am Reply

    I love all of the things you’ve noted. So many things to love here!

  7. macinic February 13, 2014 at 6:10 am Reply

    Thank you for the sneak peak!! I agree with your thoughts on the wrap dress and bunny – although I’d be crocheting for a decade to finish the big one unfortunately! I’ll keep an eye out for this edition in a few months 😉

  8. Pella February 13, 2014 at 9:16 am Reply

    Thanks for posting this review. The sleeves in the wrap dress are ‘interesting’, I wonder how they’d look in RL. Still, at least there’s some innovation these. Crochet bunny is true auntie stuff, will be loved I’m sure.

  9. Marianne February 16, 2014 at 7:39 pm Reply

    I can’t believe my eyes. NO CROCHET BUNNIES in the Dutch Burda??? Really?
    Luckily we do have the rest of the patterns, nice issue!

    • Chris February 16, 2014 at 8:31 pm Reply

      If you want the instructions for the crochet bunnies, let me know, I can email you the page. Do you have rudimentary German? Otherwise I could try my hand at an English translation – no Dutch on my side, rudimentary or otherwise, I`m afraid. I’m Bavarian, that’s my excuse 😉

  10. knitlovesteph April 10, 2014 at 2:28 am Reply

    Hallo!!
    Where can I find the pattern for the crochet bunnies?
    I speak rudimentary german and can translate myself, but I cannot find the pattern anywhere!!
    Danke schön!

    • Chris April 10, 2014 at 10:47 am Reply

      Hi Knitlovesteph,
      i think the pattern might only be in the German edition of Burdastyle, I have heard that at least in the Dutch edition they have left out the bunnies…

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

