Burdastyle 9/2013 #103 : Don’t Tell the Sewing Police

Pssst, don’t tell anybody!! I only went and machine washed my dry clean only 100% wool fabric – after it had been made into a garment with all the interfacing and everything. And psssssst again: it went absolutely fine.

IMG_6793And I even dared to wear this out to a dinner date my husband took me out to. Believe me, after 17 years of marriage and three kids there haven’t been too many of these over the last few years. So of course I needed new clothes – obviously!

The jacket is Burdastyle 9/2013 #103, made from the fabric that spoke to me in the shop.

P1070887IMG_6804Look, it’s got self-covered buttons! I was prevaricating on the choice of buttons until Marianne set me straight and told me the fabric wanted self-covered buttons. And she was so right! So off I went and bought my first ever set of cover-your-own-buttons and I can fairly say I am hooked!

IMG_6803And the buttons do really work! 🙂

IMG_6801No buttons in the back, I am afraid.

IMG_6805

I guess it’s not the kind of jacket that I would wear buttoned up a lot – it really isn’t all that warm anyway with the three-quarter sleeves, so it’s more like a blazer. Overall I really like the jacket, even though the thought of making it came out of the blue for me. If I made another one I might change the collar slightly – really want it to have a collar stand when it wants to be a Peter Pan collar, so to avoid that kind of schizophrenia I might add a more square collar next time.

IMG_6800I lined it with a turquoise paisley fabric that my daughter brought back from India last year. It is impossible to photograph (at least for me), but those paisleys have a metallic thread in them that exactly matches the hue of the wool fabric, so I am mighty proud of having such a copious stash.

And in case you were asking: yes, it is the Georgia dress, on the way to its first outing. More pictures really soon, just as soon as I can contain my excitement enough to actually writes a post that at least aspires to making sense 😉

Tagged: , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Burdastyle 9/2013 #103 : Don’t Tell the Sewing Police

  1. Anne W February 10, 2014 at 2:40 pm Reply

    great work – I love the shape of that jacket, & the lining is perfect!

  2. I made it!! February 10, 2014 at 8:51 pm Reply

    Great colours together! It’s a beautiful jacket!

  3. Marianne February 10, 2014 at 9:37 pm Reply

    Those projects decided on the spur of he moment always turn out so well. Hurrah for impulsive sewing 🙂 Love your jacket! Beautiful lining too!

  4. Fabric, Thread, Clothes? February 11, 2014 at 2:22 am Reply

    Gorgeous jacket and gorgeous dress! You look stellar!

  5. Andrea February 11, 2014 at 5:07 am Reply

    I always wash my fabrics, wool silk the lot. I really like your jacket.

  6. SewingElle February 11, 2014 at 2:31 pm Reply

    Fabulous jacket and outfit. I wash my wools too, but usually before I make them up 😉

  7. Gail February 11, 2014 at 11:59 pm Reply

    I’ve been eyeing this pattern for while. Your jacket is fabulous and has dispelled any reservations I had about potential boxyness (is that a word?).

  8. Neeno - Sew Me Love February 13, 2014 at 6:07 am Reply

    I need to see the Georgia post stat!!
    I just finished mine last night, post is half written up, but need the photos to go with it. Can’t wait to wear it!

    • Chris February 13, 2014 at 9:25 am Reply

      It is very fablous, isn’t it? I keep trying to come up with reasons for wearing it, even though it’s far too cold…

  9. thesimpleseamstress February 13, 2014 at 2:53 pm Reply

    I think this jacket is just too cute! Especially with that linking! And your dress is very cute as well! Go get em you look fabulous!

  10. […] I really show you from the front? Well, I better keep my new favourite jacket securely buttoned […]

  11. […] I really show you from the front? Well, I better keep my new favourite jacket securely buttoned […]

  12. […] stop, because my fabric has a stripe, I think different stripe directions would look fun. Cue the Don’t Tell the Sewing Police Jacket: This has raglan sleeves that meet at the back to form the yoke, thus creating fun opportunities […]

  13. […] the left there is the Brexit Coat’s older, but little sister (and if you think that is a contradiction you’d better not believe anything that’s […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

