Why would you wear hardly any clothes in the middle of winter?

Why, oh why indeed? Because you have just finished your Georgia and can’t bear to take it off after the last fitting, that’s why!

I kinda cheated ever so slightly in the sewalong – in as much as rather than finding the right size and fabric, I found the right size and fabric as the sewalong indicated, made two bodice muslin, finished the bodice and skirt yesterday and put both together today – so apart from the hem and a little bit of handstitching at the lining seam of the bodice I’m done. yeah, sewalongs might not be for me and my levels of patience. After all the blog is called said & done, not said & patience 😉 .

But  seriously, drop everything and go and get that pattern, if you have not done so already! I don’t think you are going to get another pattern where you spend so little time and get such a great result – Georgia rules! I have always been wary of very bust-hugging dresses because they often make my small bust look even smaller and I look a bit out of proportion. Not so with the Georgia – all the curves are in the right place and grading out over two sizes between bust and hip was no problem at all. I really can’t recommend this pattern more!

So I just have to figure out a way of either raising the temperature by about 25 degrees so that it becomes acceptable to wear a LBD in February – or I have to find a way of taking the Georgia off and changing back into my winter clothes. One or the other – which would you recommend?

PS: There will be pictures – as soon I don’t look quite as frozen 😉

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Why would you wear hardly any clothes in the middle of winter?

  1. sewbusylizzy February 3, 2014 at 9:37 pm Reply

    Oh I’m so excited for you!!

    • Chris February 3, 2014 at 11:19 pm Reply

      You are gonna laugh at this, but you know I have a slight sewing crush on you (in the best possible taste of course!) and when I looked at myself in the mirror in the dress, my first thought was “oh, this looks almost as good as Lizzie’s” Go figure!

      • sewbusylizzy February 4, 2014 at 1:21 am

        I’m very flattered!
        And I have no doubt you look just as fabulous!!

  2. Neeno - Sew Me Love February 4, 2014 at 12:07 am Reply

    Darn!! I was really hoping to see pics!! Can’t wait :):)

    • Chris February 4, 2014 at 6:20 pm Reply

      I’m working on hiding the “half thawed chicken from the freezer aisle” look.

  3. Gjeometry February 5, 2014 at 7:46 am Reply

    I can’t wait to see the pics! So glad you found a pattern you love.

  4. […] In other sewing news I finished my Georgia dress: […]

  5. […] you have read a few posts in this blog you will have realised that I get excited quite easily, maybe a bit too easily. Usually, the excitement wears off after a while – but not so with […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

