Burdastyle 9/2013 # 103: Early Indications Show This Could be a Winner

20140125_165650

Like some sewists out there I hear voices. Not all the time, but I do hear them when out fabric shopping. “Look at me, look at me”, I hear fabrics calling. “Don’t buy her, buy me – who knows what wonderful things you could make me into”, fabrics call out enticingly, waving their fold at me shamelessly.

So far, so normal, at least for me. But the other day, something unusual happened: A fabric bewitched me by not only telling me to buy it, but also by demanding which pattern to use! Yep, I walked past a bolt of powder pink wool coating with not a thought in the world, because actually I was checking out a new delivery of linen silk blends, and it stopped me in my tracks telling me: “You will buy me and make me into a little spring jacket, you know the one you saw in a Burda magazine recently. Resistance is futile”.

So I took this as fate, went home, found the jacket the fabric wanted in last year’s September issue, checked for fabric requirements, went back to the shop the next day and now I am making a powder pink little spring jacket…
And while there was no powder pink little spring jacket anywhere even in the most tentative corners of my sewing plans, I love what is turning out!
The pattern the fabric chose this #103, a cropped jacket with a Peter Pan style collar:

IMG_4685

In true Burda style you can’t see any of the design lines on the modelled version, but it’s actually very clever. The jacket has raglan sleeves, but they continue to the front and back forming a yoke.

P1070887

I really have to praise Burda for this pattern: everything came together beautifully, all seems matched, the amount of easing between front and side pieces is perfect and although there was no hand holding with the instructions and I could not really visualize what they wanted me to do a few times I just did as they told me and it made sense in the end.

Here is the sleeve/yoke detail:

20140125_160336

20140125_160402

I have even remembered to cut the undercollar a little bit smaller so that the seam is not visible on the side:

20140125_161113

Now I need to ponder which buttons to choose – unfortunately none of the buttons in my stash have spoken to me yet. Maybe I will have to take the coat to the shop and wait which buttons volunteer? Or should the ask the coat? It is the brains in this enterprise anyway.

Am I alone in this? Am I the only one who has her sewing choices dictated by fabric? Or do you have similar tales to tell?

Tagged: , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Burdastyle 9/2013 # 103: Early Indications Show This Could be a Winner

  1. I made it!! January 26, 2014 at 8:01 pm Reply

    Unfortunately when I walk into a fabric store all I hear is a thousand voices saying “Buy me!”. Last time I went in for some snaps I walked out $120.00 poorer… But $120.00 richer in fabric, patterns and notions! Love the lines on your coat. I can’t wait to see it finished!

  2. sewbusylizzy January 26, 2014 at 9:46 pm Reply

    For me it’s always about the fabric first, my biggest disasters are when I try to find fabric for a pattern – and I have to compromise, those projects never feel quite right

  3. tigerlounge2000 January 26, 2014 at 10:49 pm Reply

    This pattern didn’t speak to me at all in the magazine, but I LOVE your version. So chic and sweet. Nice work.

    • Chris January 26, 2014 at 10:56 pm Reply

      Thanks! You are so right – I never looked at the pattern twice when it first came out and I didn’t have it on my radar of “maybe’s” at all – until that fabric chose it…

  4. Anonymous January 26, 2014 at 11:59 pm Reply

    The pattern looks complicated to me.The fabric & color is lovely. Great job.I like to make this one… too hot for Hawaii I will have to wait a while…
    Aloha from Josie

    • Chris January 27, 2014 at 12:06 am Reply

      Hi Josie,
      I think if I lived in Hawai I would happily make little summer dresses. Well, we had the first snow of the year today, so no summer dresses for a while for me…

  5. Gail January 27, 2014 at 12:19 am Reply

    I think the buttons must be perfect for this jacket. I’d even consider having buttons made – leather or faux on the outside circle and your fashion fabric on the outer. I know exactly where to have them done in Sydney, but that probably doesn’t help.

    • Chris January 27, 2014 at 10:20 am Reply

      What a great suggestion. Unfortunately I don’t know of a single place near me where I could get buttons like this made. And yes, you are right, there are not many places in the world that are further away from me than Sydney. So much more the pity!!

  6. Anne W January 27, 2014 at 1:18 am Reply

    It’s lovely! Fabric speaks to me all the time, it’s not a good thing! With that fabric I’d use a large silvery-grey button, slightly shiny, not flat. Or something pearly…. It’s looking good though!

  7. TÉLIO TEXTURES January 27, 2014 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Looks great!

  8. Marianne January 29, 2014 at 12:30 pm Reply

    Maybe your fabric already spoke to you and told you to make some fabric covered buttons?
    Or something pearly, but perhaps I’ve seen too much Chanel lately…

    • Chris January 29, 2014 at 8:36 pm Reply

      omg Marianne, of course that is it! Self-covered buttons! That is the most obvious solution – and I never thought of it .- or maybe it was just me not understanding what the fabric was telling me.
      Well, I’m off to find one of those nifty button cover kits…

  9. […] The jacket is Burdastyle 9/2013 #103, made from the fabric that spoke to me in the shop. […]

  10. […] happened to me again: While at the fabric market recently, a fabric spoke to me! A lightweight light blue chambray printed with little white stars stole my ear and told me it […]

  11. […] often, but this fabric, which I bought in Barcelona last year, really spoke to me. And you know what happens if fabric speaks to me in the shop… The sales assistant did try to explain to me that this is curtain fabric (at least I think […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

