Any Advice for the Georgia Novice?

20140123_103436 Look what’s kept me company during my coffee break this morning! Yes, it’s my copy of the By Hand London Georgia pattern which arrived in the post this morning! I’m so excited about this – my first ever independent pattern! So before I start on this project I wonder if those of you who are already proud wearers of the Georgia could give me some advice.

  1. I want to make version 2 (the one in the middle on the envelope – knee lenght and skinny straps). I am thinking a little black dress, maybe with the raspberry lining in the picture. Is that very naughty? And, more importantly, did you have issues with the lining gaping out? Because in that case I might play it safe and go for a boring black lining.
  2. Also, what are your experiences regarding sizing? I generally wear a UK size 12, but bust-wise I’m more a 10. Did you find the cups were drafted for the Big4-type B cup, or for a larger cup? In which case I might have to size down by quite a bit.
  3. And then the undergarment issue! Pushup bras are my friend (see point 2 🙂 ) Is the bra situation tricky with the bodice? It looks to me as if the straps are very far out on the shoulder – does that mean strapless bra or did you find ways of covering the bra straps?

I can’t tell you how excited I am about this! I truly have Georgia on my mind!

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Any Advice for the Georgia Novice?

  1. littlestonecottage January 24, 2014 at 7:31 pm Reply

    I have no tips for you I’m afraid but just bought fabric to make one myself. I’m wondering about the cups also but I’m going to make the version with the wide straps. I think the girls are starting a sewalong soon too for this dress!

    • Chris January 24, 2014 at 7:37 pm Reply

      Oh, exciting. What fabric have you chosen?

  2. Neeno - Sew Me Love February 4, 2014 at 12:09 am Reply

    Ooooh. This post got me thinking – cos one of my boobs is smaller and my bra always peeks out of RTW tops/dresses. I might have to do an adjustment of some sort on one side!

    • Chris February 4, 2014 at 6:19 pm Reply

      I am happy to report that with the Georgia, which is now finished, I have absolutely no bra-peekage problems. Even the straps are hidden all the way by the dress straps (I chose the skinny straps version) so this might be the way to go.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

