Burdastyle 2/2014 #135: Drapey Top – or Muffin Top?

This is my first attempt at spring sewing and I chose this out of the latest issue of Burdastyle:

I was intrigued by the asymmetric drape – someone in blog land (I will update the link if I remember who…) called it “Burda’s answer to the drape drape books” – and I like the fact that it is something different while still being wearable. However I spotted one problem: the undraped side seam is very short indeed, if you look at the picture it hits the model just above the skirt waistband, right in muffin top territory (on me, not on the model, of course 🙂 ).

So I decided to lengthen the undraped side seam, but leave the draped side as is. First I slashed and spread the back:

IMG_6723To most of you this will not be exciting, but for me it’s the first time I have ever used the slash and spread method for adapting a pattern and I just played it by ear. I added 5cm to the side seam:

IMG_6724

and then taped everything together again:

IMG_6727

My husband even made a “Making of” picture…

IMG_6725

The front piece is very asymmetric, Kathy has provided the perfect guide to making sense of it all.

Again I slashed and spread the shorter side – first the before picture:

IMG_6728

IMG_67295cm more length to the seam

IMG_6730This made a crease appear in the middle of front bottom seam which I just folded out and retaped:

IMG_6733

The pattern came together no problem, so at least I didn’t make a mistake with the adaptation.

So this is it:

IMG_6736As you can see it is still really short on the undraped side! Also the neckline is a little lower than I’d like, but I guess that is Burdastyle for you.

Readers of a sensitive disposition please look away now: I am wearing zero make-up – and I should have… But it’s all about honesty here, isn’t it? ISN’T IT?

Anyways…

IMG_6738IMG_6739

I still have to get my head around the draped side but I think it  quite like it.

The short side looks fine when I stay still:

IMG_6740But when I don’t – and I rarely do – this happens:

IMG_6742Ooops, muffin top alert!!! I can just picture myself at work in front of a class of  20 year olds flashing my tummy – not! So this will definitely be worn with a cami underneath – but given the sheerness of the fabric that is no bad thing anyway.

So final thoughts on this pattern:

hmm, still not sure. In some way I really like it, and the drape even swishes when worn, so that must be a good thing.

It’s quite cleverly drafted and making it up is really easy – just one seam for the drape and then you just have a standard raglan construction.

This version was meant to be a muslin. The jersey is gorgeous, but I think the colour does not do me any favours, even discounting the no makeup issue. But should I make up a real version? What do you think?

Tagged: , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Burdastyle 2/2014 #135: Drapey Top – or Muffin Top?

  1. […] More details including a “Making of” picture are on my blog. […]

  2. Kura January 19, 2014 at 10:28 pm Reply

    A very good skill to learn. I’ve added it to my (ever increasing) list 😉

  3. Linda T January 19, 2014 at 10:42 pm Reply

    Cute top. Yes, I would definitely be more comfortable with a cami. If I ever make this one, I’ll raise neckline and make the top longer. thanks for sharing!

  4. Tia Dia January 19, 2014 at 11:03 pm Reply

    Thanks for posting this, no make up and all! 🙂 It’s an interesting top, and I like it. It’s typical of BurdaStyle, and the front drape is very interesting… along the lines of the Japanese Drape Drape books….

  5. Nakisha January 20, 2014 at 12:21 am Reply

    What muffin top?!?!?!!! 🙂

    Kathy of kathhhysews made it and it’s super cute. I like yours too and love the fabric. LOVE.

  6. sewbusylizzy January 20, 2014 at 8:32 am Reply

    I’m fast developing an obsession with draping! I think try it again but in a darker colour.

    • Chris January 20, 2014 at 12:51 pm Reply

      I’ve already elected candidates from the stash for version 2. Let’s see who makes it to the next round 😉

      • sewbusylizzy January 20, 2014 at 1:31 pm

        It’s like the world championship of draping!

  7. I made it!! January 26, 2014 at 9:10 am Reply

    Interesting pattern with the drape. I would definitely need something under it though, it would never sit in place on me!

  8. Kathy January 30, 2014 at 5:54 am Reply

    I’m so glad I could inspire you!!!! Yes, I absolutely agree… this top is very short… I can only wear mine with a high-waisted skirt (I can’t do high waisted pants!) I love the fabric you used here.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

