Finished: Burdastyle 2/2008 #114 : Winter Trench Coat

It’s been a long time in the making, but my Winter Trench Coat is finished now and I am very happy about it!

IMG_6574

I didn’t change the original pattern apart from making the whole coat a little shorter but the sleeves full length.

20131115_123652

But that was not due to a design decision but to the fact that I had only about 60 % of the fabric the instructions ask for (especially because I had unknowingly bought fabric that is 120cm wide rather than the more usual 140 cm – I only realised when I started cutting…). Some construction details are here and here and here.

This coat saw the advent of my first bound button holes,

20131117_201014

the first large scale top-stitching,

IMG_6569and the first fancy lining with welt pocket and zip pocket:

IMG_6567

IMG_6568

I also got to use my new tags again:

IMG_6575

So for the first time eva’ I am able to show off a complete me-made outfit with jeans (finished garment not blogged yet), another version of my favourite top and this coat. And because i it is so unseasonably warm here I can actually wear this coat right now.

So watch me happily stroll into the sunset 😉

IMG_6566OK, now I’m off for real…

IMG_6565

bye bye!

Tagged: , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Finished: Burdastyle 2/2008 #114 : Winter Trench Coat

  1. […] More details and a few slightly better pictures are on my blog. […]

  2. cathynd95 January 10, 2014 at 9:18 pm Reply

    Beautiful! !!

    • Chris January 10, 2014 at 11:14 pm Reply

      Thank you 🙂

  3. sewbusylizzy January 10, 2014 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Wow that’s impressive!!

    • Chris January 10, 2014 at 11:15 pm Reply

      Thank you! Coming from you (given that you are my sewing hero) that means a lot!

      • sewbusylizzy January 10, 2014 at 11:21 pm

        Me, a hero! That’s such a lovely thing to say… I better get sewing this weekend and earn that title!

  4. m.b. January 10, 2014 at 11:16 pm Reply

    It looks fantastic Chris! well done :0)

  5. Laurie January 11, 2014 at 12:00 am Reply

    You did such a wonderful job! I am very impressed! And all you-made! 🙂

    • Chris January 11, 2014 at 12:02 am Reply

      aaaw, that’s such a nice thing to say. Thank you!

  6. anniehanks January 11, 2014 at 12:35 am Reply

    Wow! Great job and lovely coat. The bound button holes look nice

  7. nx44 January 11, 2014 at 2:27 am Reply

    So beautiful!

  8. Tia Dia January 11, 2014 at 2:35 am Reply

    Love it! I’ve always loved white winter coats, and this trench is just perfect. Love all the details, and can’t wait to hear about your jeans!

  9. goodpurlgonebad January 11, 2014 at 10:13 am Reply

    That’s gorgeous – I love the fabric and the finishing 🙂 I chickened out of bound buttonholes on a vintage cape pattern, but they really do repay the effort.

  10. Marianne January 11, 2014 at 12:37 pm Reply

    That’s awesome! Love the details!

  11. Siri Andersen January 11, 2014 at 4:45 pm Reply

    Great job on the coat! It looks smashing 😉

  12. Anne W January 11, 2014 at 5:59 pm Reply

    Well done, that looks fabulous!

  13. Rosi January 11, 2014 at 6:04 pm Reply

    Wow! Wie schön !! Und wie toll die Verarbeitung ist. Sehr beeindruckt bin ich von den Paspelknopflöchern. Die Ausdauer hat sich wirklich gelohnt.

    • Chris January 12, 2014 at 10:39 pm Reply

      Danke Rosi! Freut mich, dass er dir gefällt. Ja, die Knopflöcher haben ewig gedauert, aber so schwierig waren sie dann letzten Endes gar nicht.

  14. Shannon January 11, 2014 at 8:21 pm Reply

    Great coat! Looks fabulous on you!

  15. bobbincat January 12, 2014 at 10:13 am Reply

    Congratulations! A fantastic coat! Beautifully made. I am tempted to try this pattern myself for our winter later in the year, Very nice job on the bound button holes 🙂

    • Chris January 12, 2014 at 10:38 pm Reply

      It’s a lovely pattern, although it does not specify the bound button holes. And mind you, it has 3/4 sleeves originally, so you might want to lenthen them. Although your winter does not get all this cold, does it?

  16. […] this month’s motto is “New Year = New Skill”. This motto has already seen me make my first ever bound button holes and buoyed by their success (thank you so much to all the lovely lot of you who commented so nicely […]

  17. […] not really quite sure why, but I made another white wool jacket. Earlier this year I made my winter trench coat jacket – my first foray into coat making. Then I got another cut of wool in  an absolute, […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

