Advice Needed: Pencil Skirt with Flats – Yay or Nay?

I wonder if you could give me some advice, almost in a role as sewing psychiatrist:

I have the most fun piece of stretch denim that tells me wants to be made into a pencil skirt.

20140102_152423

As you can see, the fabric has strawberries on, so it tells me it wants to become a fun/playful pencil skirt rather than a vavavoom/Mad Men pencil skirt.

I keep telling it that I wouldn’t really wear a fun/playful garment with heels and it might not look all that great with flats and wouldn’t it rather become an A-line skirt?

Where are you on this argument: Can a fun/playful pencil skirt be worn with flats? And should I?

Comment away! 🙂

Tagged: , ,

14 thoughts on “Advice Needed: Pencil Skirt with Flats – Yay or Nay?

  1. cathynd95 January 3, 2014 at 5:18 pm Reply

    I think it depends on the length of the skirt. Of below the knee, no, if above the knee, yes.

  2. Clipped Curves January 3, 2014 at 6:32 pm Reply

    I agree with Cathy that the length of skirt and your legs is the deciding factor. I also did a pinterest search and found some cute outfits that might help you decide if you like/dislike the styling http://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=pencil%20skirt%20flats

    • Chris January 3, 2014 at 11:44 pm Reply

      Wow, thank you so much, that is excellent! I never got into pinterest, but it seems to be a great resource. I never knew you could come up with boards like that. And I think you are completely right: It only works with above the knee length.

  3. sewbusylizzy January 3, 2014 at 10:13 pm Reply

    Cute fabric! My 8 year old would love to steal that – she’s a strawberry junkie.
    I’m not sure about flats & pencil skirts. Simply because I wear pencil skirts to work & always wear heels with them.
    I like the idea of nutty fabric with a sober pattern. It’s like ‘what crazy fabric? Oh that…’

  4. Shannon January 3, 2014 at 10:30 pm Reply

    I say yes! I can totally see this with a crisp white blouse and red or green flats.

  5. Anne W January 3, 2014 at 10:40 pm Reply

    daughter no2 wears her pencil skirts with both flats & heels. The skirts are just below her knee. It all depends on the rest of the outfit, but I don’t see why you cannot wear both.

  6. Juliet January 3, 2014 at 11:46 pm Reply

    I often wear flats with pencil skirts! It’s much more comfy and I think that the secret is to have flats that aren’t boring… something cute will always draw admiring glances regardless of the heel (or lack of). Hope this helps – looking forward to seeing the pencil skirt!

  7. Chris January 4, 2014 at 12:52 am Reply

    Having looked through the Burda pattern stash, maybe this might be a good pattern:
    http://www.burdastyle.de/burda-style/damen/bleistiftrock-metallic-leder-roecke_pid_220_8619.html
    It’s a pencil skirt just hitting the knee and all I need to do is trace two pattern pieces.

  8. Marianne January 4, 2014 at 3:34 pm Reply

    I think it’s a better look in summer with bare legs. Last week I was wearing my lace pencil skirt with flats and tights and felt a bit frumpy. Yesterday I was wearing the same outfit with heels, so much better!

  9. tworandomwords January 5, 2014 at 11:10 pm Reply

    OH MY GOSH where did you get this fabric from??

    And I don’t understand this whole “don’t wear x garment with flats” thing. I basically only wear flats because I’m on my feet for up to 15 hours at work, and that’s sure as hang not going to limit my outfit selection. This skirt would definitely work with flats and I think it would look best as a pencil skirt rather than a-line. I want one 😦

  10. […] this skirt in March – but she also added  that after I had finished my homework I might use my favourite fabric of the moment to make another skirt. And so I […]

  11. […] this skirt in March – but she also added  that after I had finished my homework I might use my favourite fabric of the moment to make another skirt. And so I […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

