The First Make of 2014: A Humble T-Shirt

Happy 2014 to all of you! I hope you have had a good transition into the new years. May it turn out to be all that you hope for and more!

I have started the year with a bit of light sewing (no hangover here, we celebrated en famille which does not tend to get a very boisterous affair) and made a very simple, basic T-shirt.

IMG_6500

I have self-censored this photo: while I am not hungover I have holiday hair that I don’t wish to share with the world 🙂 (Note to self: Go and have your hair cut – NOW!!)

I simply used an RTW T-shirt and took the pattern off there. Here is the original:

IMG_6494

And here is my version:

IMG_6493The neckline is a little wider than on the original because I had to cut off the neckband once because I misjudged the necessary length. Live and learn, ey?

IMG_6495I serged on the neckband (folded in half) and then used my coverstitch machine to finish it. It is not quite as elaborate than the original which has an extra seam band for the back neckline, but I think it will do for a little T-shirt like this.

IMG_6497

So I am looking into 2014, hoping it will bring me lots of exciting opportunities both sewing and otherwise.

What are your first sewing plans for the new year?

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The First Make of 2014: A Humble T-Shirt

  1. […] It’s no miracle of skill, but it fills a place in my wardrobe – maybe more so than some of the more shiny makes. You can see more detail on my blog. […]

  2. My Sewing Suite January 1, 2014 at 5:57 pm Reply

    Still very impressed. I will try this I need some T’s and camisoles. I have a few favorites that I have worn out that I can experiment with. I am hoping to sew all of my clothes this year instead of purchasing things except socks and shoes are allowed . I also plan to try bra making. Happy New Year!

    • Chris January 1, 2014 at 6:08 pm Reply

      Wow – that’s certainly one hell of a plan! I will follow your progress with great interest, given that I chickened out of quite committing myself to and RTW fast. There is always next year 😉
      Good luck to you sewingwise and with the rest of 2014!

    • tworandomwords January 2, 2014 at 5:20 am Reply

      I decided to do the year long RTW fast, and haven’t bought anything (except for pantihose) since June, including making my own underwear. I’m so glad I did, and actually I don’t know if I’m going to be able to go back to purchasing clothes instead of making them

  3. Looking Out The Window January 1, 2014 at 8:15 pm Reply

    You rock with talent

  4. […] wearing trousers from Burdastyle 4/2014 and my basic T in a light pink. The cardie is me-made too. I’m not too sure about those trousers. I like the loose style as […]

  5. […] had a day off, so I reached for some shorts I made last year and my basic T. None of this is exciting, but it gets worn over and over […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

