Burda Easy Fashion Autumn/Winter 2013: Two-Tone-Top

First of all may I wish all of you a very happy beginning to 2014. May the new year bring peace, health and happiness, new fabrics, great patterns and many sewing successes!

Recently I bought a coverlock machine and in order to have lots of reasons for practice I bought quite a few knit fabrics in a sale. One of them was a copper colour ponte jersey and I made up this top:

IMG_6478

I already made my Peter Pan dress following the same pattern.

IMG_6479I wore it to the only pre-Christmas party I went to this year – a champagne tasting organised by a colleague and the top looked much more in place there paired with a black pencil skirt and heals. In the glaring light of morning sunshine I don’t like the metallic effect much, but I got a few compliments on the night of the party.

This concludes my party wear this year – I am waiting for spring and I am suddenly looking forward to lighter colours. I am even thinking of pastels, which is quite uncharacteristic for me – may spring come early.

How about you: With Christmas out of the way, have your sewing thoughts turned to spring? Or, if you live in the Southern hemisphere have you started to long for autumn after all that heat?

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Burda Easy Fashion Autumn/Winter 2013: Two-Tone-Top

  1. […] It’s from the current edition of Burda Easy Style and you can read a little more detail on my blog. […]

  2. Marianne December 31, 2013 at 6:20 pm Reply

    Nice top! Since we have not experienced any frost or snow so far I’m really looking forward to one or two real winter months with lots of sewing! Cosy in the sewing room, making colorful projects on grey days. Does that sound weird?

    • Chris December 31, 2013 at 7:00 pm Reply

      I think that sounds great! Though I would be happy to all that sewing on a nice day with above zero temperatures 😉 All my thoughts have turned to spring already…

  3. nx44 December 31, 2013 at 11:16 pm Reply

    This looks great! I love the different fabrics you’ve used, it’s a bit glam but not over the top. I am in the southern hemisphere and am happy with all the heat nature wants to throw at me! It’s actually been on-and-off raining for the last week, but jan and feb tend to be our best months so fingers crossed. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

