Top 5 of 2013: The Hits

Here we go in no particular order my sewing hits of 2013:

1. The One For All Top

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI have not even blogged about this top and the 5 more versions I made – maybe because I am wearing them all the time. This is my all time favourite style of top and I can sew one up in around and hour. I have them with full sleeves like this and with short sleeves and no sleeves and I just love them.

2. The Serious Dress

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. The Peter Pan Dress

IMG_5083I would have thought that no-one over 10 should think of Peter Pan dresses, but I have seen them so much that I decided I rather like that style after all. I have worn this a few times and still love it, so I count this among my hits.

4. High Viz Skirt

IMG_5884This is another one of those projects that started without any planning. I had vaguely noticed the skirt in the Burda magazine but did not have any specific plans. I never had any room for orange fabric in my life – but then at the fabric market this orange wool fabric spoke to me (given that it was €4 a metre it kind of shouted…) and there started a match made in my version of sewing heaven. I have worn this lots and it is so bright it even cheers up the most miserable autumn/winter day.

5. The Red Dress

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This must be my favourite project of 2013. This was so easy to make up – I used a ponte jersey and so did not even need a zip and I think it is just a really flattering style for me. A version with sleeves is waiting in the queue.

So here we go: my list of sewing hits and misses of 2013. I actually found it really hard to compile the hits list because I made a few other garments that I like and my second pair of jeans is just one button away from a place on the list. But that is for another post.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Top 5 of 2013: The Hits

  1. Nancy D December 30, 2013 at 7:46 pm Reply

    Wow, that red dress looks great! You have inspired me to dig out that issue of Burda to try to shamelessly copy you.

    • Chris December 31, 2013 at 5:44 pm Reply

      Well, I can thourougly recommend the pattern. One thing I changes was to stitch closed the pleats around the neckline. I makes for a sleeker look which I preferred.
      Looking forward to seeing your version!

  2. Monique January 1, 2014 at 8:37 pm Reply

    Happy New Year Chris! Love your hits for 2013. Is the one for all top also a burda pattern?.

  3. […] off a complete me-made outfit with jeans (finished garment not blogged yet), another version of my favourite top and this coat. And because i it is so unseasonably warm here I can actually wear this coat right […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

