Top 5 of 2013: The Misses

I am sure you have heard of Crafting a Rainbows fantastic idea of compiling top 5 sewing lists.

There are already some great lists online (just look at Did you make that? or Ginger Makes – come on Ginger, how can those misses be misses? They are fantastic!! or Sew Amy Sew to mention just a few) and so I though I want to come up with my 50 cents as well. In order to leave something for a better day I will start with the misses:

1. Wrong fabric miss

20131229_180728This is a top from Burdastyle 1/14 (it’s the cover model of the German edition) and there is nothing wrong with this in principle – it’s just in the wrong fabric. It was one of those online purchases that I made on order to get to the amount needed for free shipping and while it looks  alright on the picture it is a really nasty poly ponte jersey where the stripes are printed, not woven and it just not feel nice. Also the jersey as very little stretch, so the top came up a little small, so this will go straight to the charity shop.

2. Too much fabric miss

20131229_181716Again, nice top, but it’s just a bit too busy for me. I loved the fabric when I saw it on the bolt, but made up it just feels a bit too much. The top is also quite roomy so that increases the feeling of “too much”. So again, this will go to charity – but I like the pattern (Burdastyle ca. 2009) so I will make it but again in a solid colour and a bit smaller.

3. Wrong thinking miss

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made these peplum trousers as part of my “learning to sew trousers” drive and these were essentially meant to be a muslin to see if the pattern could work and I added the peplum just as a bit of fun. But what can I say: I love, love, love the trousers (although my daughter says I am mad to wear these “Mum, you are middle aged!!!” Oh dear…) . So now I have trousers that I love in a horrible muslin fabric that attracts so much static that I almost glow when I wear them. I must might make these up again in a nicer fabric, but these ones will have to go.

4. Bitten off more than I can chew miss

20131229_18093220131229_18101120131229_181027In the spring I decided to make my first blazer – and thought it was a good idea to make it up in the shiftiest, most fraying boucle I could find. To be honest, back then I was so naive that I did not even realise that the fabric would be challenging. Well…..

In fact the blazer is completely finished apart from the button holes, but I know I am never going to wear it, there are just too many things wrong with it. So I am putting this down to experience and I plan to make this up again in a nice navy wool fabric very soon.

5. Sheer stupidity miss

This does not look bad, does it?

20131229_181426Burdastyle, some time this summer halter neck dress. But look at the back:

20131229_181452Yep, you see correctly: It does not fit. I can’t even do up the zip! In fact I wore this dress once and managed to squeeze into it, but when I tried to open it again I strained the zip so much that it broke.

Now you (and I!!) may wonder how one can sew for oneself and then produce clothes that are way to small? How does that even happen? The explanation is even more embarrassing than the fact itself. I know I put on a few pounds over the last year, I am not in denial there. But I forgot to reset my dressform!! So I sewed the dress for the dress from with my 2012 measurements, not for my own 2013 measurements. How stupid is that?? I even tried to diet into the dress, but I lost all interest after it took longer than missing dinner twice. So now that my dress from is set correctly (and I cannot put on any more weight, because the dress from is at the top setting already) I will try and fix this dress.

This one however, is beyond fixing:

20131229_181151This is Burdastyle 3/2013 #110 and I loved it when I saw it in the magazine and loved it even more when I was Kristy’s version. But what can I say: horror boucle and wrongly set dressform does not make for a successful dress. So this will go the way of all earthly things too…

So, these are my misses. I will try and get in the hits soon.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 of 2013: The Misses

  1. sewamysew December 30, 2013 at 12:28 am Reply

    Those peplum trousers look really good on you, and I love the little detail bugger “middle age” I say 😉

    • Chris December 30, 2013 at 1:05 am Reply

      That’s what I say to my daughter. I just get a tsss and a nasty look as a reply. 😉

  2. […] here we go: my list of sewing hits and misses of 2013. I actually found it really hard to compile the hits list because I made a few other garments that […]

  3. Tia Dia December 31, 2013 at 10:50 pm Reply

    So sad about that first top – the fabric looks so lovely. Ah, well, misses are about learning, right?

  4. Gail January 14, 2014 at 5:06 am Reply

    Love your too much fabric blouse – sent it over! Your first striped top is equally photogenic but I agree that icky shiny jerseys are not wearable.

    • Chris January 14, 2014 at 11:18 pm Reply

      Oh nooooo, Gail, I took it to the charity shop last weekend!!! How annoying, it would have been a pleasure to send it to you…

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

