Burdastyle 11/12 #107 AGAIN: My First Attempt at Jeans

One of my New Year’s Re-Sewlutions was to finally get my act together and make my own jeans. Somehow making ones own jeans somehow seems to me the gold standard of home-sewing – I am not even sure why and I’m not a massive jeans lover anyway. But I got the idea into my head and I have tried to act on it.

But what does make a pair of jeans? Is it:

  • the use of denim/jeans fabric?
  • the typical five pocket cut
  • the typical finishing details such as contrast colour topstitching and rivets?

I not fashion-forward enough to even know an answer to this question… The pattern I chose is my favourite trouser pattern (out of a sample size of 2) – it’s Burdastyle 11/12 #107, made before here and here. It does not have the typical jeans back yoke, so I am not sure it even qualifies, but it’s a pattern that I know and love the fit of.

So far everything is going rather well. One thing I noticed is how my skills have improved over the last year – I can now sew the pockets or install the zip without any drama and it’s not just a stroke of luck that they turn out ok.

20131227_120146

I also decided to add some back pockets that are not in the original pattern.

20131227_120107

I have since been told (by my husband of all people) that the topstitching design is specific to the designer. Is that true? I’m just asking because I simply copied the pockets off a pair of Calvin Kleins – but of course I would not wish to be seen to steal their design!!

20131227_120118

The topstitching is going all rather well – in fact I have quite a love affair with topstitching going on at the moment. But look what happened:

20131227_120206Of course the topstitching should meet in the middle of the crotch and because I sewed the crotch seam first before the inseam I did think about the fact that I would need to topstitch both the front and the back crotch onto the same side. So oops, I still did it wrongly but then no-one will be looking at my crotch I hope, so it’ll stay that way.

I was almost able to finish the jeans today, but then I broke two needles on the last belt loop after four belt loops had gone on without incident, so I decided that stepping away from it all might be the best policy.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Burdastyle 11/12 #107 AGAIN: My First Attempt at Jeans

  1. […] any special features – but this is version 5 of this pattern (version 1, 2 and 3 are here, version 4 in the making is here) and they are now my most favourite pair of trousers in the world. I made them slightly longer than […]

  2. […] for the first time eva’ I am able to show off a complete me-made outfit with jeans (finished garment not blogged yet), another version of my favourite top and this coat. And because i […]

  3. Gail January 12, 2014 at 12:21 pm Reply

    Great jeans. Re the crotch stitching misalignment…frankly I’d be worried if anyone was looking that closely!

    • Chris January 12, 2014 at 10:37 pm Reply

      Yep Gail, just my thinking. If anybody does look I will look back with such disdain that worry about faulty stitching will be the last of their worries ;- )

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

