Would You Buy a Coverlock Machine?

By which of course I mean “Should I buy a coverlock machine?”

With Christmas coming up I have been wondering that for a little while. I do like to sew knits and have had limited success with my twin needle efforts. I often zig-zag knit seams and most of the time that looks okay – but not great – so what do you think? Should I flash my eye lashes at Santa re a coverlock machine?

I’m under no illusion that it might pay its way, after all I sew only for myself so a new sewing machine for basically one single applications is always going to be an indulgence.

Do any of you have a coverlock machine? Are you deliriously happy with it, or in the depths of despair? Any advice on make and model? Or should I just live with sometimes slightly wavy seams and be done with it? How do you cope with wavy seam syndrome if you don’t have a coverlock machine?

As always: any advice is eagerly received and greatly appreciated!

Tagged: ,

14 thoughts on “Would You Buy a Coverlock Machine?

  1. Karen Teel November 25, 2013 at 12:45 pm Reply

    Ah… I went through the same conundrum a few years ago. I did buy a used Viking 936. Totally love my Vikings but this machine got the best of me. Only used it for coverstitch, a 910 for serging. I finally broke down and bought the Janome Coverpro 1000CPX last weekend at the Sewing Expo in Chicago. The threading finally did the 936 in, a couple of spots would have me walking away. I love having a dedicated coverstitch as I change threads a lot. The Coverpro is very easy to use. Indulgence? Yes, but I am worth it. Karen in Illinois

  2. sewbusylizzy November 25, 2013 at 1:34 pm Reply

    I’ve got one but just need a chance to play with it. I’ve also got the Janome – it’s just come out of it’s box… Have you seen Four Square Walks or Little Betty? They both have one.

    • sewbusylizzy November 25, 2013 at 1:34 pm Reply

      Got mine on eBay – cheap but never been used!

  3. ellecsews November 25, 2013 at 2:36 pm Reply

    I have a Janome Coverpro 900CPX, I like it, but i don`t love it. I bought it from an acquaintance for $100. Knowing what I know now, would I buy one at full retail? No, I wouldn’t, mainly because the attachments are so ridiculously expensive and the instructions that come with it are so poor. If it wasn’t for Debbie Cook at Stitches and Seams I would know almost nothing about the capabilities of the machine.

    My advice, if you can find a cheap used one, buy it. They are out there.

  4. sewladyt November 25, 2013 at 2:55 pm Reply

    I love mine! It’s a Babylock stand alone cover stitch. Super easy to thread, super easy to use. Only sticking point, the price.

    Is the cover stitch essential? No, but neither is a serger. Both are handy tools and do their jobs better than the sewing machine version.

  5. Ellen November 25, 2013 at 3:44 pm Reply

    I also have a Babylock stand alone coverstitch machine and a separate Babylock serger. I can use the same plug/ foot pedal for each machine. I have heard very good things about the Janome and my dealer also carries that model, but since I already had a BL serger, I decided to stick with that brand. Babylock also makes a combination serger/ coverstitch, but I really didn’t want to go through the switchover process between functions, so this is more convenient to me. Love both of my BL machines- sooo easy to thread!

  6. Michelle November 25, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

    I love my used serger. Knowing nothing about them – am satisfied with a basic one. ($50). Unless you break the bank and go for an air threaded one – they are a pain to rethread.

    The craftsy class on beginning serging was super helpful and explained all the different features, some models and what could be done and what to look for. I would take the class before you buy new.

    I never got into just finishing my seams which makes invaluable!!!!

    Totally get one.

    • Michelle November 25, 2013 at 4:29 pm Reply

      I meant to say all I so is finish seams !

  7. cathynd95 November 25, 2013 at 6:48 pm Reply

    I actually inherited one from my my dear neighbor who passed away several years ago. I haven’t really given it much of a try, but will be spending more time with it in January. I also came across a book “sewing with sergers” at the library. I had it checked out for 6 weeks, read through it, but didn’t have a chance to apply what I learned. II will be checking it out again end of December, early January.

  8. Emmely November 25, 2013 at 7:59 pm Reply

    I really want one as well. I am debating whether to get an overlock with coverstitch or two separate machines. The advantage of one machine is that it takes up less space but then you do have to convert all the time which might drive me crazy.

  9. Sea of Teal November 25, 2013 at 8:46 pm Reply

    Liebe Chris,
    ich habe eine Coverlock-Maschine von Pfaff und bin mehr als zufrieden. Sie ist einfach genial und ich könnte nicht mehr ohne sie nähen. Ich würde sie sogar mehr vermissen als meine Nähmaschine, da würde ich lieber wieder meine Alte nehmen! 🙂
    Also ich kann sie nur empfehlen. Ich habe das Einfädeln innerhalb eines Tages gelernt… zugegeben, mir sind solche Schritte immer sehr logisch und es fällt mir leicht, Maschinen zu verstehen, aber es ist wirklich kein Hexenwerk.
    Liebe Grüße,
    Stef

  10. Valerie November 25, 2013 at 10:35 pm Reply

    Cover lockers are great when they behave themselves. I bought the Janome three needle one years ago and have had good times and bad times with it. Like a sewing machine, it will behave differently on different fabrics and you have to learn what settings suit what project. Keep the manual handy. But when they behave, nothing gives a better finish for hems on knits, nothing.

  11. disa November 26, 2013 at 7:15 am Reply

    janome 900- at least 7 years old and used a hundred times. if you sew knits, it’s indispensable. true, the attachments are expensive, but i don’t use them except for the clear foot. the ONLY trouble i’ve had is on thicknesses of greater than 6 layers. if you’ll use it, you deserve it.

  12. […] you so much for all your replies on my question “Should I buy a coverlock machine?”! I love love love the online sewing community for many reasons, the wealth of advice and […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

