Winter Trench Coat: Progress Report

Surprisingly and unexpectedly I managed to get in a couple of hours of sewing today, so the trench coat moved along a little.

Today I made the inside of the bound button holes, the bit on the facing:

20131118_194322Once the lining is in I will have to handstitch them to the outside part – that is in fact the part of the coat I fear! I HATE handstitching! Probably because I have no idea how it is done properly. I just make it up as I go along – and it shows… Anyway, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I also decided to follow the advice of all you kind commentators and go with a light coloured lining. I will have to go and buy some – my stash has come up short re suitable lining. Well, there is a first time for everything ;-).

You will also have spotted the red piping I have added to the facings. This is thanks to Anne, who gave me the inspired idea to add a little spot of colour. I experimented with a few fabrics, but then decided on an English theme of red on white and made some red piping:

20131118_182837

Then I played around with ideas for an inside pocket. Using a leftover scrap of leather I experimented with a zip cover/embellishment/thing:

20131118_202724Obviously the zip would lead to a pocket cut into the lining. The zip, which is almost an industrial weight, might be a bit much, but it was what I had at hand to experiment.

So this is where it’s at today:

20131118_194812

I don’t quite get the way the epaulettes are to be attached – Burda instructions, ey?! At the moment I have just pinned them – I might have to meditate further to get into the spirit of Burda.

I have ordered the buttons, I will get the lining when I have a chance this week – so I might be able to finish the coat next weekend. They say there will be snow in my parts later this week. Wouldn’t it be so chic if I could greet the snow in a white coat?

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “Winter Trench Coat: Progress Report

  1. Anne W November 19, 2013 at 10:56 am Reply

    Love the red!! This is going to be so cool! I hadn’t tried the meditating idea to get the meaning of Burda instructions, I may try that next time instead of reading them, going “hu??” & then doing my own thing! 😀

    • Chris November 19, 2013 at 5:59 pm Reply

      Well, thanks to you for inspiring me in the first place!

  2. Sea of Teal November 19, 2013 at 10:57 am Reply

    Ich bin begeistert. Du bist genau so detailverliebt wie ich. Du steckst ja unmengen Arbeit in diesen Trench… und Liebe! 🙂
    Ich bin auf Tragebilder gespannt.
    Liebe Grüße,
    Stef

    • Chris November 19, 2013 at 5:58 pm Reply

      Danke für die Blumen 🙂 ! Ja, die Jacke ist echt ein Ewigkeitswerk. Allein die Knopflöcher haben glaub ich 4 oder 5 Stunden gebraucht. Aber was tut man nicht alles …
      Bilder folgen natürlich.
      LG Chris

  3. Ida December 8, 2013 at 9:27 pm Reply

    This is looking great so far! I can’t wait to see the finished product. I hope I’ll be good enough at sewing to be able to do this one day.

    • Chris December 8, 2013 at 10:49 pm Reply

      Thank you! I got stuck at this point of making the coat – but once it is finished I will post some pictures.

  4. […] cm – I only realised when I started cutting…). Some construction details are here and here and […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

