Winter Trench Coat: Update

 

I doubt that any of you is actually interested in this, but I am using the opportunity to use the blog as a journal of my work.
Things are coming along rather nicely with my trenchcoat. Today I managed to finish the main construction of the shell.
20131117_200959
This is the front with the collar already attached.

I need to put on the facings next and make the inside of the bound button holes, which is completely new territory for me.
20131117_201014
The collar worked first time – I am so pleased about this.
And here’s the back. 20131117_201139

I plan to use dark brown fake leather buttons for this project. I thought about using real leather buttons, but I was told they have to be taken off when cleaning the coat – and with a white coat I don’t want to put myself through this on a regular basis, so fake buttons it will be.

One thing I am not sure about is the type of lining to choose. Should I use normal lining? In cream or a contrast colour? Or a quilted lining for extra warmth? Or something else entirely? I’m really not sure…

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Winter Trench Coat: Update

  1. Clipped Curves November 17, 2013 at 10:27 pm Reply

    Wow, your speedy sewer. Coming together nicely. I think stick with cream for the lining – a flash of colour lining is great when the shell fabric is darker.

  2. Valerie November 17, 2013 at 11:59 pm Reply

    Your coat is looking good. I second Clipped Curves, matching lining is best in a lightweight coat.

  3. Gail November 18, 2013 at 9:36 am Reply

    Wow, this is coming along nicely. I love the v-shaped seaming of the back yoke.

  4. Anne W November 18, 2013 at 2:39 pm Reply

    Looking good! I’d go with a fale lining with the cream shell. If you wanted a coulour use something really pale & pastel. Alternatively, use a cream lining but insert a ribbon or bias strip of a lovely colour along the join between the facings & the lining. I’ve used that trick in the past & it does look good!

    • Chris November 18, 2013 at 4:50 pm Reply

      The idea with the bias strip is inspired! I think that is exactly what I am going to do, I might go with dark red piping?? I can see that in front of my mind’s eye. Thanks so much for the tip!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

