WIP: TMS Challenge “Something from a Sewing Book”

In my family we don’t really buy into the Christmas present madness, so I don’t feel obliged to do massive amounts of crafting. However, The Monthly Stitch decided to make their November challenge “Something from a Sewing Book”. Because I never use envelope pattern for my sewing and make all my handmade garments based on BurdaStyle magazines I don’t own any garment sewing books. However I do have a few quilt books – which did not stop me buying a new one for this challenge ;-).
I decided on Tula Pink’s 100 Modern Quilt Blocks, a book that is as simple as it is wonderful.
IMG_5969
It shows individual quilt blocks only, but no finished quilts. The idea is that you pick and choose the blocks you like and create your own quilt. All the blocks have a modern feel about them and they come with cutting and piecing instructions and full size picture of each one.
IMG_5970.
For my first practice project I decided on making table mats for my parents. I started off with individual blocks, all at 6 inch finished size:

IMG_5968I used the fat quarter bundle of Cuzco that my husband brought for me from Washington DC. The book came from the UK – those table mats have a whole lot of airmiles on them!

IMG_5975In the end of the day I think I slightly overdid it on the colour combination. Not sure my parents will enjoy such a lot of confusion. But now the four tops are done it’s too late for regrets I guess.

IMG_5976

I will soldier on by trying free-motion quilting. It’s something I have never ever achieved, but on the small scale of the table mats and using my trusted Bernina (which sews better with the normal foot than my Viking with the walking foot) I will give it another try.

IMG_5974Here are my scraps – they went straight in the bin. I had to think of  Amanda Jean from Crazy Mom Quilts : she does the most incredible things with scraps. I bet she could use scraps even of this size :-).

I have also started working on my Winter’s Lane Quilt, also based on the same book.

IMG_5971

Because I use a jelly roll the blocks come out at a larger scale of 12 inches.

IMG_5972

I love the subtle colours on this line that make the red pop out. I am not sure how I will finish the quilt (this blog is called Said&Done after all and not ThinkALot&DoItAfterwards 😉 ) but I am sure the right thought will come to me in good time.

On other sewing related news:

I went to the fabric shop today to buy needles. Really, truly and honestly, I only wanted to buy the needles. No second thoughts whatsoever.

Well, I ended up with this:

IMG_59671,5 metres of deliciously autumn coloured floral upholstery weights fabric from their remnant bin. I think I have to officially call me a fabric shopping addict. I did get the needles as well, I did not spend all the money on coke – ahh, sorry fabric. Is there is hope for me?

Anyway: What’s on your sewing tables at the moment?

5 thoughts on “WIP: TMS Challenge “Something from a Sewing Book”

  1. Clipped Curves November 9, 2013 at 10:09 pm Reply

    Wow, those place mats will certainly wake your parents up at breakfast! Great from a book make. I’m sitting this month out as nothing on my wish list matched the challenge!
    Oh my… that purple upholstery fabric is gorgeous it’d have been criminal not to buy it. I’m envisaging a pencil skirt?!

    • Chris November 9, 2013 at 11:55 pm Reply

      Actually pencil skirt was my first thought too. But I am thinking out of the box this time and am going with pleats. I have ridden on the fabric high and have already started 🙂

  2. cathynd95 November 10, 2013 at 4:40 am Reply

    I have yet to master quilting as well. As for the scraps, I have a scrap bag I put even thos little ones in and use them for stuffings. :-). Waste not, want not.

  3. Gjeometry November 11, 2013 at 10:48 pm Reply

    Oh, very pretty! These are going to make terrific gifts, i’m sure your parents will love them. I’m busy working on two garments from two different sewing books. I plan to give a little mini review of them as well, but so far, one book is quite challenging with the patterns and instructions. Not so clear.

    • Chris November 12, 2013 at 10:21 pm Reply

      That’ll be great! I look forward to those reviews. They are one of the great things of the sewing community I think!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

