The Internet – A Wonderful Thing

Look what I have got:

IMG_5899Is that some yardage and a jelly roll of Winter’s Lane, I hear you ask?

IMG_5900It most certainly is! I have been dreaming about this for months! And look what else:

IMG_5902IMG_5903Fabric Christmas cards and gift tags! Isn’t that the loveliest idea ever?? I have no idea what to do with fabric Christmas cards exactly, but they are adorable. And have you seen the selvage? Delightful, I’m sure you’ll agree.

But there is more:

IMG_5901A fat quarter bundle of Cuzsco. My world is happy today!

And what does the internet have to do with this? Well, sourcing these fabrics in Germany is hard, often even not possible. Ordering these fabrics via the internet from the US is easy – but postage is expensive, often amounting to more than the actual fabrics and then the parcel might be stuck in customs for ages and I might have to drive to the customs office (around 25km) in order to release the package.

But my husband spent some time in DC recently and so I ordered the fabrics in the US and had them sent to his hotel. And I didn’t even have to pay and sales tax, because the billing address is outside the US. Win-win, I would say (in fact that is the reason why the fabric Christmas cards were purchased, they were about what the sales tax would have been 🙂 )

And just apropos of nothing: I moved my camera about 20cm, and what did I get: a plastic “Mom, are you scared”-frog and one of many toy guns.IMG_5904The joy of living with boys, ey?!

So how about you: Do your fabrics mingle with life? Or do you sew in meditative peace and quiet?

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Internet – A Wonderful Thing

  1. wombatquilts November 2, 2013 at 7:57 pm Reply

    I love the brown hatch print with the red berries. I am going to have to hunt some of that down. Soooo pretty.

  2. vinthillvintage November 3, 2013 at 11:32 pm Reply

    Cute gift tags. I share my sewing space with my home day care business so if I shift my camera a little there’s usually the lovely marker stained kids table and dried Play Doh bits stuck to my fabric. In exchange my kids put up with stray threads and fabric trimmings stuck to their socks and stuffed animals. I

  3. […] used the fat quarter bundle of Cuzco that my husband brought for me from Washington DC. The book came from the UK – those table mats have a whole lot of airmiles on […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

