Prepping my Chiffons

I give you my latest sewing accessory:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No, I am not sewing with cake (not even using a Cake pattern ;-)), nor am I eating cakes whilst sewing (although that sounds like a thoroughly commendable if a little messy option). No, I am going baby steps towards sewing the chiffons that have been in my stash for some time and that I have always been to scared to sew.

Ever since Sewbusylizzy wrote about taming the fabric beast with the use of some gelatine I have wanted to bathe my chiffons in diluted gelatine. Then life happened, but now I have finally done it:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAApparently, the gelatine makes the fabrics less slippery, easier to cut, less frayable (is that even a word?) and generally better behaved. I just hope it works, because my last attempt at sewing chiffon many years ago ended in tears and tantrums.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At least I am going some way towards sewing a season-appropriate wardrobe – see how well I am coordinating my fabrics with the surrounding environment. Now you see them, now you don’t ;-).

One thing I have been wondering about: What happens if I don’t manage to complete these projects soon? Can I put the gelatined fabrics back in my stash? Or will the gelatine somehow “go off” and so I have to wash it out of any unused fabrics? Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Prepping my Chiffons

  1. Ali October 30, 2013 at 2:49 pm Reply

    Looking forward to see how you get on with your chiffon.. I’ve nearly been tempted to try gelatine but chickened out.
    About if the gelatine soaked fabric can go back in your stash if not used……check the best before date on the packet! Lol 😀✂️😀

  2. macinic October 31, 2013 at 1:13 am Reply

    I’m not sure, I’ve not saved any unwashed scraps! I do use it regularly though & have again for my next post. One thing I’ve learnt though is to take care if using it for silk chiffon, but mainly because washing the silk in warm water/gelatine isn’t the greatest for colour fastness 😉

  3. sewbusylizzy October 31, 2013 at 3:12 am Reply

    Good question! Personally I wouldn’t leave anything on fabric for any length of time, ie fabric chalk, pins etc. if it’s got organic matter in the gelatin is been concerned about it attracting vermin etc…

    • Chris October 31, 2013 at 11:09 pm Reply

      Yep, the vermin issue is what concerns me too! So I will either have to make three chiffon blouses in quick succession, or alternatively I might store the fabrics in the cold on the balcony so that any icky little beasts at least don’t infect the rest of my stash.

      • sewbusylizzy October 31, 2013 at 11:57 pm

        I’ve sometimes put the kids favourite teddy bears in the fridge to kill dust mites.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

