Why Bust A Stash, When You Can Build One?

Stash busting is a very commendable enterprise! There are whole contests out there about who reduces their stash the most. But one the other hand that means no fabric shopping. I mean, NO MORE FABRIC SHOPPING!!! So that’s where I fall off the band waggon of stash busting. I love fabric shopping – and I think my stash is in no way big enough! There are even fabrics which I’m sure I don’t have!

You can see I am working up to a confession… Yes, I went to the fabric market in Fürth, which takes place twice a year and is the largest in my region, again. And when I say I went, I did really go!

Look:

Foto0923This is after about an hour. The trolley was already filled at this point.

So what did I get?

Foto0924All useful stuff, don’t you think? A new cutting mat, lots of serger thread for increased efficiency, assorted notions – not an indulgence in sight!

Foto0925Orange and navy wool cloth – you can’t go wrong with orange and navy wool, don’t you think? Especially not at 4 € a metre. And the black and grey satin I needed because it is Frocktober and I need to make a dress! And cream lining – everybody needs cream lining in their lives!

Foto0926Some quilt fabrics. Now, with a couple of babies in my life (not of my making I hasten to add) I clearly need quilt fabrics, that goes without saying.

Foto0929A couple of metres of printed knits – ok, around 20 metres. Well, I might have got carried away slightly on the laser prints, I have to agree. But then they are all so colourful…

Foto0930The “I really don’t need this but I have fallen in love with it” purchase: Butterfly upholstery fabric. I might make this into a statement A line skirt – do you think the statement I am making might be “I am mad?”. Alternatively maybe a bag?

Foto0931So this just about sums it up: a few hours very enjoyably spent!

Do you ever go (slightly) overboard when fabric shopping? Or do you shop what you need when you need it?

Tagged: , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Why Bust A Stash, When You Can Build One?

  1. Wendyp October 17, 2013 at 3:34 pm Reply

    Love the butterfly fabric! All it says is: ‘I’m mad about butterflies’ so that’s not so bad…

  2. hanndo October 17, 2013 at 5:04 pm Reply

    That butterfly fabric is really lovely!

    I went tot the local fabric store last saturday and looked around properly for the first time to see what’s available. I was a bit shoked by the lack of choice they had. Maybe I need to find my way around the fabric stores in the area, but I definitely need to stash up at the fabric market in a few weeks time. On a budget though.

    • Chris October 18, 2013 at 5:01 pm Reply

      Yeah, my local faric store is lamentable too. So much the more reason for stocking up good and proper at market time !

  3. SewingElle October 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm Reply

    What a wonderful haul. I love a good fabric shopping expedition, specially when the selection is varied and the prices are good.

  4. Anne W October 18, 2013 at 1:31 am Reply

    wow, you did well!! Love the orange wool – absolutely LOVE! I certainly do not need any encouragement to “build” my stash. I’ve been quietly getting on with that job for the last *cough* 24 *cough* years! I am doing my best this year to actually try to use what’s in the boxes 7 bags before I dash out & buy something – but I’ve not always been terribly successful! All the best in building your own stash! 😀

    • Chris October 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm Reply

      I just recently used up some fabric that I bought before my first child was born 14 years ago… So I am working on a stash-flow 😉

  5. rachsews October 18, 2013 at 9:51 am Reply

    Excellent haul of fabric! I love seeing this, because it makes me look positively restrained (well, there was that one time I came home with about 85m of assorted fabric, but it was all very inexpensive and it was not all for me…. and yes, most of it still sits in my stash!)

    • Chris October 18, 2013 at 4:58 pm Reply

      That is so typical! 🙂 It’s also a good story to tell my husband: “There is this blooger friend of mine and SHE bought 85m in one go!!! So you see, my two large bags full of fabric are actually not as much as it seems…!!”

  6. Rosi October 19, 2013 at 4:33 pm Reply

    Schon längere Zeit folge ich Deinem Blog. Ich finde die fertig genähten Sachen ganz großartig. Jetzt lese ich, daß Du in Fürth auf dem Hollandmarkt zum Einkaufen warst .
    Bin nun sehr neugierig geworden,wo Du wohnst . Muß wohl ganz in der Nähe von meinem Wohnort im Raum Ansbach sein.
    Liebe Grüße Rosi

    • Chris October 19, 2013 at 10:15 pm Reply

      Hi Rosi,
      ja, ich wohne im Osten von Nürnberg, da ist der Fürther SToffmarkt dann Pflicht. 🙂 Warst du denn auch schon mal dort?
      Liebe Grüße
      Chris

  7. Pella October 19, 2013 at 11:48 pm Reply

    A nice collection. I like the butterflies too.

  8. Rosi October 22, 2013 at 11:15 pm Reply

    Hi Chris,
    Ja ein einziges Mal und zwar dieses Jahr im Frühjahr. Das Wetter war scheußlich: regnerisch und kalt, war aber eher Nebensache. War schon sehr beeindruckt von den vielen Marktständen und so viele Frauen mit Koffern. Überhaupt was man da alles an Nähzubehör finden kann. Habe auch zwei schöne Baumwollstoffe für zwei Kleider ergattert,wovon leider nur eines nach meiner Zufriedenheit etwas geworden ist. Das andere nach dem Burda
    Schnitt 126 5/2013 , war dasselbe Problem mit den abgenähten Biesen im Rückenteil, die mir irgendwie nicht gefallen wollten.
    Mein Stofflager ist noch gut gefüllt muß unbedingt reduziert werden, sodaß ich erst wieder im Frühjahr (vielleicht) daran denken kann den Stoffmarkt zu besuchen.
    Schöne Ausbeute hast Du da mitgebracht !
    Liebe Grüße
    Rosi

  9. Monique October 23, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

    Love the fabric! I still have fabric from when going to the Saturday Utrecht fabric market 20 years ago when I lived in London and reguarly visited relatives in Utrecht. Some of which is still in my stash, and travelled with me when I came back to New Zealand. Maybe about time I did something with it!!

    • Chris October 23, 2013 at 9:55 pm Reply

      Haha! On the other hand maybe you should leave it in your stash until it becomes vintage. And at some point there is going to be a “Oldest fabric from blogland’s stash” contest 🙂

  10. The Sew Convert October 24, 2013 at 5:26 am Reply

    The butterfly upholstery fabric looks awesome! Great fabric buys! If I sew more, I have no excuse not to buy more.

  11. […] this is the first project made from my massive fabric haul earlier in the month. You see, I am being good, I don’t just shop, I also use up my purchases. I think that gives […]

  12. Nakisha March 16, 2014 at 5:22 am Reply

    Fabric shopping is like therapy! But cheaper!!! 🙂

    I have a modest stash. I am fasting currently but I’m sewing up a storm too so I’ll be ready to buy again soon! 🙂

    Love all your fabrics. Especially the wool and knits!!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

