Peter Pan Collar: Yay or Nay?

I finally managed to get some pictures of the Peter Pan dress in the flesh as it were.
IMG_5072

Please excuse the creases and crinkles! I asked my husband whether there were any creases and he said it was “absolutely fine”. Well…

IMG_5074

I think I might have to make the whole dress a little bit tighter in order to avoid the creases in the upper back.

IMG_5083

But most importantly: What do you think of the Peter Pan collar on me? Before my recent sewing activities I would have never even considered that the words me and Peter Pan collar could be mentioned in same sentence, let alone in one outfit.

IMG_5075

So should I take it off again? The dress is as yet unlined and if I line it I have to take the facing off anyway. Taking off the collar wouldn’t be a big deal then.

Or do I leave it where it is and go for the “a little bit different look”?

Any thought and opinions would be greatly appreciated!

12 thoughts on “Peter Pan Collar: Yay or Nay?

  1. Marianne October 13, 2013 at 10:04 pm Reply

    Yay! I like a Peter Pan collar and it’s looking good on the dress and on you. Since you mentioned you did not alter the pattern, I was wondering why your collar looks different from the one on the model. Her collar pieces meet at centre front, yours look wider apart?

    • Chris October 13, 2013 at 10:31 pm Reply

      Ooops, you caught me out here… I did lower the neckline a little (it is chockingly high, at least for me) I realised to late that I would have had to make the collar pieces wider – but then decided I liked them the way they are.

      • Marianne October 13, 2013 at 10:46 pm

        Yup, I like them too!

  2. macinic October 13, 2013 at 11:38 pm Reply

    I like the change in collar – and the collar itself, which makes it a touch more ‘on trend’ perhaps, but seriously, it’s a lovely dress and would look equally as great sans collar – nice work 😉

    • Chris October 14, 2013 at 9:13 am Reply

      Thank you! Slight blush on my side when dress and “on trend” was mentioned in the same sentence 😉

  3. Kansas sky October 14, 2013 at 1:20 am Reply

    I really like that collar. It adds something graceful. Lovely work!

  4. Sewingelle October 14, 2013 at 4:36 am Reply

    I love the dress and I think it would look even better without the collar. It’s fine with it of course, just my preference would be to not have it.

    • Chris October 14, 2013 at 9:18 am Reply

      Thanks Elle! I am so torn!!! I might have to remove the collar anyway because it still is a little bit high and I might want to lower the neckline another little bit. I wonder whether the collar will make it back onto the dress in this case… 😉

  5. Clipped Curves October 14, 2013 at 5:26 am Reply

    Another vote for removing the collar. I think the side pieces are great, angular and a bit geometric which clashes with a rounded pretty collar.

    • Chris October 14, 2013 at 9:17 am Reply

      I agree, that was my worry about the collar too. Ohh, decisions…

  6. gingerpetal October 14, 2013 at 11:02 am Reply

    If you take the collar off, the black shoulder pieces would be more noticeable, not sure if that is good or bad. Another option, I notice in the picture from the magazine that the collar is in the same fabric as the shoulder pieces and that gives it a different look as well. Your dress looks great as it is.

  7. Wendyp October 14, 2013 at 1:12 pm Reply

    I’m not really big on Peter Pan collars, but on this dress it works really well. I especially like that the collar doesn’t ‘meet’ in the centre but is a bit spaced. Gives it a nice twist!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

