Burda Easy Fashion A/W 2013: Dress with the Peter Pan Collar

This is the third garment I have made from the current issue of Burda Easy Fashion – given that there are only 6 patterns in the magazine I definitely think I got my money’s worth!

I decided to make the colour block dress:

3C HW13 B

Thanks to my ever growing stash (no stash busting for me!) I did not have to look long for suitable fabric and came up with this:

IMG_5047

I sewed the pattern without alterations apart from the length and I used the 3/4 sleeve option.

IMG_5049

The pattern came together without problem. I used the pinless sewing method from the Craftsy course and so the body was finished after a couple of hours.

IMG_5050I am even happy with the way the zip went in.

IMG_5051I quite like the colour block effect. It looks as if it pulls in this picture, but it really doesn’t. I did not even notice it before taking the picture. I topstitched along the seam lines of the bodice.

One thing I am not sure about is the Peter Pan collar. I absolutely fell in love with it on the model and I like the look of it on my version. I even like the contrast of the masculine colours and the girly collar.

IMG_5048

I am just not sure it is quite me… I don’t have any pictures of me in the dress as yet – my husband takes my pictures and with the days getting shorter we have not had a chance to take one during daylight hours. But as soon as I have pictures I will ask your good selves for opinions: Peter Pan collar yah or nay.

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Burda Easy Fashion A/W 2013: Dress with the Peter Pan Collar

  1. sewbusylizzy October 12, 2013 at 10:46 pm Reply

    I love the colour blocking on this – looks fabulous, creates a girly shape in those stern colours – fab!

  2. Juliet October 13, 2013 at 8:10 am Reply

    I’m on a total collar kick at the moment so I think that the peter pan collar is sweet! Will keep my eye out for your post wearing this dress as well. Looks awesome!

  3. […] 3. The Peter Pan Dress […]

  4. […] already made my Peter Pan dress following the same […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

