Burda Easy Fashion A/W 2013 #5: Blouse with Flap – or Good things come to those who try again

My first attempt at this blouse was in the “not quite a disaster” category. I have never really liked sewing blouses because I have a strained relationship with button holes (something I intend to revisit, promised. A bit of sewing psychiatry might do me the world of good). So when I saw this simple blouse top I thought it was right on the money:

5C HW13 B

Though that thought must have left me at the fabric shop when I bought the cheapest chiffon, just because I liked the look of it. I regretted that horribly when the fabric pulled and snagged and slid and generally behaved most disgracefully. I ended up with a top that looks alright from a distance but that no sewist is allowed near, that would be too embarrassing:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee, even these pictures are a little bit embarrassed and try to hide themselves away. It certainly has nothing to do with some rather haphazard camera settings on my side ;-).

So I decided I like the top plus it is a really easy make with no darts and not complicated details, just right for a few hours of meditative sewing and I made it again from a satin that I have absolutely loved ever since I bought it two years ago but that I never knew what to do with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the second make I made the sleeves a little longer and the seams a little straighter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABut you know what: I really don’t like it in the sunshine. It makes the satin so shiny and the colours so garish that I think I will leave this to cheer me up on a dreary autumn day.

Wait – that is tomorrow then. Well, at least I know what to wear now…

3 thoughts on “Burda Easy Fashion A/W 2013 #5: Blouse with Flap – or Good things come to those who try again

  1. Ann November 6, 2013 at 7:21 pm Reply

    Hi, I’m new to sewing. I am really impressed with your burda magazine makes – especially your silky blouse. 🙂
    I’m in the middle of making the dress with the flap, and wondered if you had to shorten the body at all when you made your blouse. I’m 5ft 2ins, and mine seems very long in the body even with the elastic tightened?
    Have you got any tips before I go at it with my unpicker? thanks
    Ann

    • Chris November 6, 2013 at 9:45 pm Reply

      Hi Ann,
      thanks for the compliment! I think I am a little taller than you (174cm, is that something like 5 8?) and I just sewed the pattern as is without any changes apart from the length of the bottom part below the elastic, which I made a bit longer. In the waist everything fit just fine and the elastisc sits right at the waist. So yes, if you are smaller than me I suppose you might want to shorten the top part a bit. I guess if the body is too long you get a strange balloon type shape once the elastic is tightened, don’t you?
      Oh, actually, on my first version (the powder pink one) I did not even put in the elastic as I cut the blouse without adding seam allowances. I felt it was fitted enough as it was.
      Let me know how you get on with your make!
      Chris

  2. Ann November 6, 2013 at 10:55 pm Reply

    Thanks for replying, Chris – and I will let you know how I get on. It does balloon around the waist which is such a shame because I love the style. I will take it apart and re-cut the fronts and back. Dressmaking is such a difficult skill to learn – especially the fitting of garments! Ann

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

