Burda Easy Fashion A/W 2013 #2: Flying by the Sides of my Pants

After making a really stupid mistake on my last attempt at trouser sewing I got my act together this time and made a pair of trousers without any problems whatsoever. And they are – wait – PEPLUM trousers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The pattern is Burda Easy Fashion A/W2013 #2:

2C HW13 B

This time round I had no problems at all in the construction process and everything went without a hitch. I even tried my hand a sewing without pins, a trick that is described in the Craftsy course Sew Better Sew Faster that I am taking at the moment. I would never have thought so, but pinless sewing actually works really well. I did not without pins completely, but really used only very, very few – promised! And that was not only faster than pinning, then sewing but it actually was more exact too. Don’t know how this worked, but it did, so I suppose that is the main thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The peplum detail is a lot more “fashion” than I would usually wear, but I think it is a fun detail.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The original pattern has a CB invisible zip, but that was one thing I did not like in my first (failed) attempt. Nothing wrong with the look of it, but I just did not feel happy with a zipable backside…

So I put in a standard lapped zip at the front. And for the first time on this blog I am happy enough with the inside of a garment than I am prepared to show it. So drum roll please….

Tadaaa:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, I added belt loops as well to prevent sagging. I did not quite manage to do away with it altogether:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe black arrow point towards a little crease that I keep getting with these trousers. Maybe I need to just take out one or two centimeters of the height of the back pieces? But then the back is rather lower than I like anyway. Maybe there is more of a problem that trousers slide down my bottom a little when i walk but don’t manage to make their way up again enough and that’s where the crease occurs? Do you have any ideas what to do to avoid it?OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thing I am really unhappy about is the fabric. Because of my troubles with the first attempt I did not want to use any “proper” fabric for this, especially because I thought the peplum might be a silly idea. So I used a really horrible HORRIBLE polyester nightmare, one of those purchases where I bought two metres of cheap rubbish in order to make up a certain amount to get free postage. Is that just me, or do we all do this? Anyway, while I like the colour the quality is really quite bad and so I have a pair of handmade trousers that I really like in a fabric that I don’t like wearing… How that makes sense I don’t even try to explain ;-).

I feel some fabric shopping coming on. It’s as well that our region’s largest fabric market is in a week’s time 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Burda Easy Fashion A/W 2013 #2: Flying by the Sides of my Pants

  1. sewbusylizzy October 2, 2013 at 11:22 pm Reply

    I’ve really got to overcome my fear of trousers… they aren’t that scary are they?
    These are lots of fun & congratulations on the ‘innards’ !

    • Chris October 2, 2013 at 11:29 pm Reply

      I was long convinced I would not be able to do them until I tried again a little while again – and miraculously I had no problem. So yeah, do try them – you do such accompolished sewing I bet the trousers you make will be great!

  2. Gjeometry October 3, 2013 at 12:07 am Reply

    Oh My Goodness, peplum trousers!! What will they think of next, I’ve not seen this pattern before. These are very fashion forward and you did a great job. Love that colour! Maybe the small of back crease could be due to a swayback adjustment that you need to make?

    • Chris October 3, 2013 at 9:06 pm Reply

      Thanks for the top, Gjeometry. I will investigate 🙂

  3. Zoe October 3, 2013 at 6:31 am Reply

    The pants are awesome, I love the bright blue. The crease at the back could be due to your fabric maybe? I own some polyester shorts (bought, not made) and they often get a little creasey in that area too.

    • Chris October 3, 2013 at 9:05 pm Reply

      Thanks Zoe! The polyester theory might be right on the money, because the fabric relaxes such a lot in strange places after being worn for a while…

  4. hanndo October 3, 2013 at 11:18 am Reply

    They look great! I love the colour and the look of these pants. It really came out great and it really looks good on you.

    • Chris October 3, 2013 at 9:04 pm Reply

      Thanks Hanndo!

  5. […] made these peplum trousers as part of my “learning to sew trousers” drive and these were essentially meant to be a […]

  6. […] and so I can wear them for the first time. I started making them back in autumn together with my Flying by the sides of my pants pants, in fact they use the same pattern, just without the […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

