My Journey in Quilts 7: Little Baby Quilt

A good friend of mine is going to have a baby very soon – and what better to give to welcome the little girl into the world than a quilt.

IMG_4973

It all started with a Moda charmpack and a good old rifle through my stash.

IMG_4971As my friend has decided against a specifically girly colour scheme I thought you can’t go wrong with yellow. So I found the white fabric with yellow circles for parts of the top and the backing.
IMG_4972This fabric as well as the binding has been in my stash for 15 years! In fact when I first bought it was for the first quilt I made – another baby quilt for my first baby. So making the quilt sent me down memory lane back to the times when I was a new mum. Loads of emotion, lots of memories of this biggest change in my life.

IMG_4970

I quilted very simple – in the ditch along the lines of the smaller pieces. For once the quilting went without a hitch – I think there isn’t a single pucker to be seen anywhere. All that is left to do is to embroider the name and date of birth. As I’m waiting for the impending birth as we speak the whole quilt should be finished soon.

4 thoughts on “My Journey in Quilts 7: Little Baby Quilt

  1. Juliet September 29, 2013 at 10:56 am Reply

    Oh, this is lovely – such an inspiration for my barely started log cabin quilt. I’m a would be quilter, but dresses keep getting in the way.

    • Chris September 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm Reply

      Haha, I know exactly what you mean! So maybe you need an impending birth in the family, that would give a deadline to your quilting 🙂

      • Juliet September 29, 2013 at 11:07 pm

        Oh dear… nothing like that coming up yet. And even more sadly we’re coming into summer, when quilting just seems a bit absurd!

      • Chris September 30, 2013 at 9:28 am

        Yep, completely agree! So summer dress for now and some quilting in the autumn then?

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

