Who doesn’t want to “Sew Better, Sew Faster”?

When I saw the great results that the Material Lady got in sewing her Islander Jacket Express, I was immediately convinced to try the Craftsy course she had taken too. And then I had some money left over because I was made to serve as support staff for the German elections last Sunday which is a very honourable but very, VERY boring task. They pay you a small sum as compensation and when I realised it would pay exactly for the course Sew Better, Sew Faster: Garment Industry Secrets I took this as a sign and enrolled.

It’s the first sewing course I have taken in about 30 years and the first online course ever and although I have not even finished watching every lesson I have really enjoyed the experience.

The course is based around the construction of a jacket (like the one from the Material Lady), but I have not received the pattern for this – as shipping times from the US to Germany are like – ages I decided I could not wait (after all I want to sew faster, not wait longer!) and tried to used the new techniques on my latest project, a pair of trousers with a peplum no less.

Everything worked a treat and I have been able to make a whole pair of trousers doing hadly and basting and using almost no pins. Apparently that’s how they do it in the industry so that’s good enough for me!

I am not to sure all of that made me sew faster (speed has never been my issue, that’s why the blog is called Said & Done 😉 ) but my new pair of trousers sure turned out better than the previous ones and with a lot less drama. So so far the course has not only been a pleasure but also a success.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Who doesn’t want to “Sew Better, Sew Faster”?

  1. macinic September 28, 2013 at 1:26 pm Reply

    Congratulations! I haven’t tackled that Craftsy course, though I’ve looked at it – I have enjoyed it’s complete antithesis, the Couture class with Susan Kahije (although I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve basted my sewing lines, it does seem to be on the increase 😉 ), and have a few others I’ve enrolled in and am flicking through 😉

    • Chris September 28, 2013 at 10:59 pm Reply

      I’m practising the pinless sewing – it actually works really well. No basting on my sewing table 🙂

  2. […] went without a hitch. I even tried my hand a sewing without pins, a trick that is described in the Craftsy course Sew Better Sew Faster that I am taking at the moment. I would never have thought so, but pinless sewing actually works really well. I did not without […]

  3. […] pattern came together without problem. I used the pinless sewing method from the Craftsy course and so the body was finished after a couple of […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

