Being Busy with Burda: Three pieces from Burdastyle 9/2013

I have made the best possible use of the school holidays (and my boys away for a day trip 🙂 ) with a heavy sewing session based on the latest edition of Burdastyle. A lot of people in blog-land were rather non-plussed with it, but I actually really like it and I have made/am making three pieces from it.
First up is dress #127 (I blogged about my immediate infatuation with it here).
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s not quite finished yet as I have not decided on the hem length and there is also a lot of umming and ahhing about the sleeves. I am not sure whether to leave them as wide as intended by Burda or to go for a more traditional tighter sleeve.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I made dress #101 from a very busy knit fabric. I am kind of hoping it does not look as busy in real life 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the dress has very low neckline, so for reasons of decency I put a camisole on my dressform 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe knotted front pieces tie around the back, but the tie almost disappears in the business of the fabric.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am all in love with the little gathered sleeves:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally, to complete my day’s work, the batwing top #113. I decreased the width of the batwing a little. Somehow having too much fabric around me makes me nervous…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did not even look at what the instructions specified for finishing the neckline. I just used a strip of black bias stripe that was kicking around in my stash.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo what do you think: Did I get my money’s worth out of this edition of Burdastyle?

Tagged: , , ,

11 thoughts on “Being Busy with Burda: Three pieces from Burdastyle 9/2013

  1. Anne W August 20, 2013 at 11:16 am Reply

    You’ve been busy! I love the fabric you’ve used for the 2nd dress.

  2. Sewingelle August 20, 2013 at 11:41 am Reply

    Wow you sure did. I haven’t even received this issue yet.

  3. cristina August 20, 2013 at 11:45 am Reply

    I don´t like very much the sleeves in burda´s first dress… I think I would prefer them a little bit narrower. Sure it has paid off anyway! 😉

    • Chris August 20, 2013 at 1:09 pm Reply

      Yes, I too think they are not quite right. I was excited by the slightly different look at first, but now I am not so keen anymore.

      • cristina August 20, 2013 at 1:16 pm

        Don´t get me wrong, the dress is gorgeous. It only deserves another sleeves 🙂

      • Chris August 20, 2013 at 1:22 pm

        No no, I completely agree with you. In fact, I have already started writing a post called “The strange sleeve dress” ;-). Just waiting for someone to take pictures of me modelling the sleeve “problem”

  4. Tia Dia August 22, 2013 at 12:19 am Reply

    These are great! I just got my August Burda in the mail yesterday, and both your dresses were on my “like” list! You definitely got your money’s worth this month! Looking forward to your post on the sleeves for the first dress.

    • Chris August 22, 2013 at 3:37 pm Reply

      Thank you! The strange sleeve dress is still in its state of strangeness, but I have now worn the second dress (with the crazy print) and it’s stood its first test quite well. I will try and get some proper pictures taken as and when.

  5. Shannon August 23, 2013 at 2:43 am Reply

    I love both your dresses. I really want to make the kimono dress, but I’m going to have to go with a narrower sleeve. I like the knit dress, too. I’d love to see some photos of you modeling it because the neckline looks so scandalous and I can’t really tell much from the magazine photo. I’m not sure I want to bother with it if I have to make/buy a cami to go with it. Then again, the sleeves are pretty fabulous, so maybe I should just go ahead and try it.

    • Chris August 23, 2013 at 9:48 pm Reply

      Shannon, just let me say you will definitely need a cami under that knit dress (unless you are into a slashed to the navel kind of look 😉 ) – if I get a chance I will post a few pictures of myself in the dress. I really do like it though notwithstanding the undergarment issue.

  6. Janet August 23, 2013 at 6:42 pm Reply

    I was thrilled to find out someone had already made these. Would love to see what they look like on a real body. They look really nice. Now, I am tempted.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

