Indian Inspirations – and Burda 9/2012 #109

stoffRemember how I blogged recently that I had been given this white Indian fabric with hand-woven paisley pattern?

I decided I was going to make it into a European style dress and came up with this pattern: it’s Burda 9/2012 #109. It’s a really simple dress with only two large darts in the front and only a centre back seam for shaping.

So this is my result:

IMG_3873IMG_3874I used a white cotton batiste to underline the front and back pieces, the sleeves are unlined. I did think long and hard about the pattern matching, but you can see on the back of the dress that the result isn’t quite perfect. But at least I am making progress – I never used to even consider pattern matching at all until I started reading sewing blogs and getting inspiration from there.

IMG_3877I added some pockets in the front and these are truly perfectly matched so I am mighty proud of them ;-).

IMG_3879Another thing I learned from following you sewists is to insist on a better fit, even if the pattern does fit perfectly from the word go. I have always had problems with gaping at the back neckline and always simply accepted this as the home-sewer’s look. Not any more! I learned to add some darts to take out the surplus width at the back neckline. Finishing with the white binding rather than with a facing was an afterthought and so it does not sit flush with the top end of the zip. I am treating this as a design statement rather than an oversight…

IMG_3880I also added two tiny pleats to take out the fullness at the front neckline (I usually trace a size 40 because I need the general width but I would not need the cup size) otherwise I always always have gaping problems there as well. You can hardly see the pleats, they are hidden in the paisley just above my collar-bone. You can also just about make out the difference in the transparent sleeve and the underlined rest of the dress.

This is in fact the first time I have used underlining and overall that was a good experience. I feared all sorts of sliding and shifting of layers of fabric, but using cotton underlining did not really make that an issue. There are a couple of creases on the inside, but as I did not decide to photograph those I don’t feel so bad about them 😉

IMG_3870Overall I am happy with the way this turned out. I am always a bit nervous about wearing white what with all the options for getting stains on it, so I am not sure how much I am going to wear the dress. But for those occasions where I do want a white summer dress I am set up ok, don’t you think?

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Indian Inspirations – and Burda 9/2012 #109

  1. Librarienne July 18, 2013 at 4:13 am Reply

    I think this was a beautiful use for that fabric. It looks light and breezy.

    • Chris July 18, 2013 at 9:40 am Reply

      Thank you Librarienne! The weather is beautiful here, so I hope I will get plenty of chances to wear it!

  2. Tia Dia July 19, 2013 at 3:36 am Reply

    This is so light and summery and breezy looking! The fabric is divine.

    • Chris July 22, 2013 at 6:04 pm Reply

      Thank you, Tia Dia 🙂

  3. Shannon July 20, 2013 at 8:47 pm Reply

    This is lovely. I think the fabric is perfect and I really like the semi-sheer sleeves. It’s a perfect summer dress.

    • Chris July 22, 2013 at 6:04 pm Reply

      I’m glad you like it!

  4. themateriallady July 22, 2013 at 9:12 pm Reply

    What a perfect dress for summer – and beautifully executed. If you put a hook and bar in the binding at the back neck no-one will ever think it wasn’t meant to be that way.
    Enjoy wearing your lovely dress 🙂

  5. 7cakes August 26, 2013 at 8:27 pm Reply

    Lovely shift dress! Super easy to wear =D

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

