Burda 5/2012 #107: Wonky Dress

IMG_3555Well now, what’s happened here, I seem to ask.

Well now, a really wonky dress:

IMG_3550It’s wonky even if I stand straight – like here doing my best Guards of Buckingham Palace impression. The pattern is #107 from last years May Burda:

107-052012-M I made up the dress version but left off the pockets. No real reason for this other than I was lazy and felt like a quick project without fiddling. Lazy, ey??

Somehow on these pictures the dress actually looks a lot more A-line than on the technical drawing. I am not quite sure what I did, because I simple followed the pattern without any changes, but having looked at the pictures I think I am going to make it a little more fitted because I like the shape on the technical drawing better.

IMG_3554

IMG_3556

I think the wonkiness of the pattern is a bit strange – I would have preferred the turquoise inset to be the symmetrical on both sides. But on the other hand it is fun and I like the colour combination, so I still like the dress.

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “Burda 5/2012 #107: Wonky Dress

  1. Shannon June 24, 2013 at 3:55 am Reply

    I think your dress looks great. I love this pattern and want to give it a try one of these days. Was it difficult sewing those curved front seams?

    • Chris June 24, 2013 at 8:23 am Reply

      Thanks! I thought the patterns was easy, but I have to add that I used a ponte knit so I could stretch the curves a little. But I only used a few pins and took care the match the notches and the curves went through with no problems. I made the same dress last year with wovens and it was a little harder, but I only used a few more pins and sewes veeery slowly.

  2. SewingElle June 24, 2013 at 5:22 am Reply

    I like it! It’s on my (long) to do list. I like your colour choice too.

    • Chris June 24, 2013 at 8:25 am Reply

      Thanks! I had to smile when you mentioned the to do list. 🙂 Mine is even longer than my stash – and that is saying a lot… So many things to sew, so little time to sew…

  3. Gjeometry June 25, 2013 at 10:10 pm Reply

    Oh, I, of all people, do understand the desire for symmetry, but have to say, I love this curvy, artistic design. Definitely don’t change it! It looks great.

  4. Tia Dia June 26, 2013 at 1:05 am Reply

    I’m so glad to see this sewn up outside of a Burda magazine! I love this, and it’s on my long list of sewing, too. The colour combo is great!

    • Chris June 26, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Thanks! 🙂 It’s a really simple make, especially using knits, so if you like the pattern, making it will not keep you for long from the rest of your sewing list 😉

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

