Burda 11/2012 #107: More Trousers and Even More Trousers

After a few frustrating tries in trouser sewing and some years’ break I have only recently returned to making trousers. Turns out I did not get on too badly and I got some really nice comments from you guys about my first attempt (thank you 🙂 ), so I thought I’d best continue on a high.

I I took the same pattern, Burda 11/2012 #107 and made these

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA and these:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The khaki coloured trousers have contrast turnups, so I can wear them ankle length when I am feeling serious and shorter when I am feeling summery. Two for the price of one, what more can a girl want, ey?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe pattern came together really easily and I didn’t make any fit changes apart from a higher waistband (but because the waistband of the pattern is only a rectangular piece of fabric with interfacing I did not need any special pattern-changing-powers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese ones are just a little bit of fun! The fabric is from IKEA and it is one of the heavy weight cottons they do which lends itself to furnishing projects better than to dress making. Nevertheless, I felt I had to atone for my recent fabric shopping sprees by doing some stash busting, so this fabric had to go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere the unavoidable “Does my bum look big in this”-shot 😉 . I don’t think it looks any bigger than usual, but definitely a little strange with the flower-with-cauliflower pattern on it. Plus you can see how high the waistband is. It makes the trousers come up much higher than any of the RTW ones I have, and it felt funny at first, but I actually like not having to hoik them up because they grip above my waist anyway.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I doubt these trousers will stay in my wardrobe for much longer than this season – but at least I have done my fashion-victim thing with the current trend for large patterns in trousers. Who knows – I just might get around to making a peplum top everybody has been wearing before the trend disappears?

How about you: How you ever sewed something that you knew would not last just for the fun of it? Or do you only spend the time and effort if it is something you will wear for a long time?

4 thoughts on “Burda 11/2012 #107: More Trousers and Even More Trousers

  1. Tia Dia June 21, 2013 at 3:34 pm Reply

    These are great! I love your IKEA trousers – such fun! I’ll wager you wear them more than you think you will! I’ve been sewing a lot of experiments lately. I do feel a bit guilty about making stuff, wearing it for a couple of seasons and then trashing it because I get tired or it or am really not super happy with it. I keep telling myself it’s a hobby and leave it at that!

    • Chris June 22, 2013 at 1:25 pm Reply

      You definitely have a point about the hobby! If I only sewed strictly what I need – then problably I would sew nothing as I have a whole wardrobe full of stuff that will do perfectly well for some time. So yeah, hobby it is!

  2. […] pattern (out of a sample size of 2) – it’s Burdastyle 11/12 #107, made before here and here. It does not have the typical jeans back yoke, so I am not sure it even qualifies, but it’s a […]

  3. […] trousers without any special features – but this is version 5 of this pattern (version 1, 2 and 3 are here, version 4 in the making is here) and they are now my most favourite pair of trousers in […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

