Burda 5/2013 #126: Dress with Pleated Waist

I have been in a summery mood recently and one of the results is this dress:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s my version of Burda 5/2013 #126:

126-052013-M As you can see from the technical drawing it has pleats both in the front and back. I sewed the dress as per the instructions without any changes other than lengthening it by about 7cms. However, I left off the lace belt. The instructions have you sew the belt onto the dress, but I thought that might cause all sorts of problems with laundering and what have you. So I thought I would add a separate lace belt to aim for the same look as the original but be more practical. Well – that was not exactly a case of “said and done” – so far I have not even managed to find the right lace for a belt. I am thinking turquoise crochet style lace, which of course probably exists nowhere but in my head, so I might just have to crochet it myself.

However, I am not sure this is ever going to happen, because I am not really sure about the dress. I loved the pleats on the model, but on me don’t you think they look a bit strange?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Especially the ones in the back they create a weird kind of puffiness, don’ t they?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do wonder whether to change at least the bodice back and convert the pleats to darts? However, that’s not such a simple job (not simple enough for my level of sewing knowledge at least…), because the pleats are quite wide and just sewing them closed looks quite strange.

I like the boat neck style of the bodice otherwise. Here is me being photobombed by a rather overenthusiastic Child 3.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So at the moment I am a little stuck with the dress and don’t know what to do with it. Do I leave it like that and wear is as “something a little different”? Or should I try and change it so a more conventional and actually more flattering shape? What do you think?

In the absence of any bright ideas from my side I have tried to do some jumping: That at least works ;-)!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Burda 5/2013 #126: Dress with Pleated Waist

  1. sewbusylizzy June 19, 2013 at 11:32 pm Reply

    It’s a lovely design that one. Could your fabric choice be the issue? If it’s fairly crisp the pleats might make it stand out more than if you used a softer cotton?

    • Chris June 19, 2013 at 11:38 pm Reply

      Yeah, I have been wondering about that as well. I saw a few versions online made out of finer fabrics and it certainly did not have so much of the puffiness problem. On the other hand Burda do suggest a crisp fabrics… I guess I should have thought about that before…

  2. juebejue June 20, 2013 at 2:05 am Reply

    i liked that pattern as well but avoided it as it seems to be more flattering for flatter ladies. i wonder if there are too much length on the bodice for yours. like, if you pinched the shoulder seams together, is it less poufy?

  3. SewingElle June 20, 2013 at 7:06 am Reply

    I like it. Yes it’s poofy but i think that’s how it’s supposed to be. tulip shaped would be a nicer way to describe it

    • Chris June 20, 2013 at 4:38 pm Reply

      🙂 What a good idea to rebrand it into tulip shape! I will definitly wear it a few times and see if I get used to tulip rather than poofy!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

