Burda 7/2013 #105: “Quick, quick, it’s summer”- shorts

I really got my skates on this time: the July edition of Burdastyle was in my letterbox on Tuesday, I had already decided from the online preview that I wanted to make shorts # 105 from some light red denim in my now well equipped stash – and away I went.

https://i0.wp.com/www.burdastyle.de/chameleon/mediapool/thumbs/b/e4/105B-0713-B_400x300-ID294519-903b3504a738db710a672e9b5f069310.jpg

Summer has been long and recalcitrant in arriving this year, but the weather forecast predicted good weather from today until the weekend. I knew I could not risk missing the German version of summer 2013, so I knuckled down and knocked out the shorts and could wear them for the first time today.

IMG_3558

There is nothing really special about them, they are just a pair of little shorts, but I really like them. I like the rather wide cut – for a long time I did not like to wear short shorts because I did not think they were very flattering. These ones, because they don’t cut into the thigh, are much better I think (at least I hope so…)

IMG_3559I have worn these all day, so they are a bit crumpled, but I regard this is my boho slash vintage slash outdoor look.

IMG_3560

Here is me trying to hold in my stomach 😉

IMG_3562And a lot more creases… One day I will get the hang of this ironing-before-taking-pictures thing, I promise.

All in all, although there is nothing unusual or particularly exciting about these shorts (in fact, DD put on some almost identical RTW shorts this morning), I am sure I will make these again. They are an easy make and just so practical for a relaxed summer day when I can’t spend all day lazing around in a pretty dress.

How about you – has summer arrived where you are? Or are you just in the midth of winter, glaring furiously at summer clothing?

12 thoughts on “Burda 7/2013 #105: “Quick, quick, it’s summer”- shorts

  1. sewbusylizzy June 13, 2013 at 10:25 pm Reply

    Wow that was fast! I only just got my June issue!

    • Chris June 14, 2013 at 4:31 pm Reply

      Good heavens, is the post taking so long?? But I suppose you are out of sync with the Burda seasons anyway, so a few weeks’ delay won’t matter.

      • sewbusylizzy June 14, 2013 at 11:55 pm

        Oh I have no idea why it takes so long. It’s probably why I sew so many summer dresses though!

  2. ooobop! July 6, 2013 at 8:27 am Reply

    Fabulous Chris. I knew these would sew up good. Must steal some time soon to make some myself! 🙂

    • Chris July 8, 2013 at 11:50 am Reply

      Make sure you post the results so we can compare and contrast. 🙂

  3. sewforward July 6, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

    Love the shorts. I am working on the same pair – just need to get them finished.

    • Chris July 8, 2013 at 11:55 am Reply

      Do post some pictures so we can compare our different version. I am loving mine, I think they are great for a casual summer look – and I used to be quite reluctant about shorts!

    • Angela April 23, 2014 at 11:04 pm Reply

      Have you finished yours? I’m looking for some advice help on mine

  4. Angela April 23, 2014 at 11:03 pm Reply

    I’m making this right now and the directions aren’t so clear! Would you mind helping me out a bit! Thank you

    • Chris April 24, 2014 at 12:16 am Reply

      Sure! Where are you stuck? I can help on most things apart from the cuffs where I could not fathom the instructions myself and just winged them.

  5. […] For some reason unfathomable to me the link doesn’t show straight away, but this is what those shorts looked like last year: […]

  6. […] shorts are Burdastyle 7/2013 # 105 – I made them twice last year and because I still have been reaching for them regularly this summer I decided to move a piece of […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

