Burda 7/2011 #113: Little Raglan Blouse

On a recent tour through my rather increased stash I realised that I had two coordinating lemon/lime coloured fabrics and somewhere in the back of my mind I seemed to remember a pattern I had always wanted to try out if I had just such fabrics. So I went through my stack of Burdas and found what I was looking for: this raglan blouse/top #113 from 7/2011:

113-072011-M

While I think the wonky neckline is a charming idea I was worried that in reality it might look like I had not been able to sew it correctly (as does the fashion shoot in the magazine, if I am honest) and so I decided to cut two right sleeves, the higher ones in the technical drawing. So this is what turned out:

IMG_3525IMG_3526IMG_3528

The front and back are cut from a solid fabric, the sleeves from a transparent jersey:

IMG_3533

Although it did not make my heart skip a beat I still like the top and so I decided to make another one:

IMG_3536

IMG_3540This is made from a jersey with metallic stripes. It is not very drapey, so I am not sure it might have been the best choice for this top.

The whole style is a departure from the more fitted tops that I usually wear so I have to wait and see if I get used to it. I have noticed that it won’t matter if I suck in my tummy or not, so what’s not to like??!!

IMG_3537

All in all I like the lemon coloured top a lot more than the grey one. So as soon as the temperatures rise to double digit figures and no rain (yep, Germany has been sitting under a rain cloud for ever!!) I will test drive the top in real life – and I think there might be a few more if I find out I like the style.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Burda 7/2011 #113: Little Raglan Blouse

  1. SewingElle June 10, 2013 at 1:36 pm Reply

    I wondered if this pattern would look better non wonky. You’ve proved it does!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

