Burda 8/2012 #121 : Colour Block Dress Take 2 – With Just One Colour

I only completed this three days ago, but I have already worn this twice and I think it is going to be my new favourite dress: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the summer version of the colour block dress I made a few weeks ago. This time I decided not to line the dress as I did not want to add any heat inducing layers. Nevertheless, I think the ponte jersey is heavy enough to hold its own without a lining.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI did some top stitching to emphasise the darts and I decided not to open the darts around the neckline as per specified in the pattern. Originally, I had only basted the darts close for construction, but I really like the cleaner look the full darts give.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finished the arm and neckline seams with bias tape made from the fashion fabric and hand-sewed the seams. Inspite of my best efforts the seams still show a little, so that is one aspect I don’t like about the dress – but my hand sewing is terrible anyway, so considering this I actually did rather well 😉 .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I promise one day I will manage to get a back shot standing up straight so there aren’t creases and ripples everywhere. When I do stand up straight the back actually fits very well. What is really strange is that I had to take the center back seam in buy about 3 cm more than on the colour block dress, although I used the same type of fabric from the same seller for both dresses. And I even got away without a zip this time.

So altogether and inspite of its limitatons this is a sewing project that makes me very happy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Burda 8/2012 #121 : Colour Block Dress Take 2 – With Just One Colour

  1. Kerri May 19, 2013 at 10:52 pm Reply

    Great detail! You wear it well. 🙂

    • Chris May 19, 2013 at 11:40 pm Reply

      Thank you, Kerri!

  2. SewingElle May 19, 2013 at 11:29 pm Reply

    Wow. You look great in this. I wouldn’t worry about your hand sewing.

  3. […] 5. The Red Dress […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

