My Journey in Quilts: Part 4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my most ambitious quilt so far: yet another Kaffe Fassett model. In the German version of “Caravan of Quilts” it’s called Urknall, which translates as Big Bang – and I think this is exactly what it looks like.

The quilt is 2×2 metres and I made the top entirely from my stash, so from a stash busting point of view it was a very pleasing proOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAject!

At one point I had actually calculated how many diamonds I had cut (it was way over 1000) but I forgot that information asap, so suffice it to say that I had a lot of diamonds on my cutting table.

Of course the assembly of the quilt is in diagonal rows, so basically you just follow a chart without having a feel for the final outcome and you only realise that there might have been a mistake during piecing when the rows are joined. And yes, of course there were a few mistakes, but I managed to correct them. The quilting was done by hand, diagonal rows following the line of the ditch, but about 1cm to one side of the ditch. I must admit that I really did not enjoy this. I am not a great fan of hand sewing anyway, but on this large scale I found it boring and tedious – and I guess that shows in the result. Since completion of this quilt I have bought myself a walking foot for my sewing machine and have had some quite good results quilting smaller quilts, but I have not tries a full size quilt so far. I guess I’m dreading it so I am putting it off… That’s quilting psychology for you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought the backing fabric specially, but the binding is old bed linen, the yellow circles on white from the bed linen I used for my babies, the red flowers leftovers from a dress I made for my daughter when she was little – lots of memories that to me are the essence of quilting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So what do you think: What is the special attraction of quilting for you? Is it the sewing challenge? The fact that you can conserve memories in fabric? Or something else?

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “My Journey in Quilts: Part 4

  1. Gjeometry May 9, 2013 at 10:00 pm Reply

    Wow, this is so pretty!! I have never made a quilt before, right now am sewing clothing. But, have a few patterns for bags and purses that are pieced and quilted that I’m going to give a go.

    • Chris May 13, 2013 at 1:02 pm Reply

      Thanks, glad that you like it. I have to admit that I have not done a full size quilt in a while. It’s clothing for me too at the moment. If only the weather would have mercy with all those summery dresses I am making…

  2. juebejue May 9, 2013 at 10:46 pm Reply

    wow! crazy looking quilt! it almost makes me want to quilt but it just seems too daunting 😛 curious – how long did it take you to make this one?

    • Chris May 13, 2013 at 1:00 pm Reply

      Yeah, it was a bit crazy piecing this. But it could be done on a smaller scale, maybe that would not be as daunting?

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

