Burda 11/2012 #107: Trouser Sewing Conquered?

I am so excited! I mean really REALLY excited! I finished my first pair of trousers in years and they have actually come out wearable! I know I should stop the exclamation marks already, but trouser sewing has been my nemesis for so long, so I do feel a bit like having slain the dragon 😉

So here are my trousers on their first outing to the lovely opera house in Nuremberg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sewbussylizzy pointed me towards a fantastic way of putting in the zip and after watching these I installed the zip in the 10 minutes just before dinner. This is not a euphemism: it took me 10 minutes flat to put in the zip with no drama, no puckers, no confusion. Amazing! Buoyed by that success finishing the garment only took a couple more hours. They are really simple front pocket trousers.

http://wwБрюкиw.burdastyle.ru/model/2012-burda-11-107-b

I think they are meant to be ankle length, but I keep forgetting that I am around 8cm taller than the height Burda specify for their normal patterns, so on me they come up a bit short. Because the coral is a summer colour anyway I don’t mind, but in a more subdued colour I think I would make them a bit longer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I cut one size larger than usual in order to have more material to play with regarding fit issues. It turned out that that was not actually necessary and I simple took in the side seams by about 1,5 – 2 cm, so basically that made it my normal size again.

One thing I did change is the waistband. I made it much higher than specified, mine ist around 6 cm. That gave me the option to curve it inwards on the waistband on both sides, thus imitating the shape of the waist on the waistband. Am I making myself clear at all? Basically the waistband tapers towards the top, both on the side and on the back seams. This makes the trousers actually stay up without a belt, because they kind of grip at the top of my hips. That may sound a bit strange, but I love it not having to wear a belt.

The top is just a little self-drafted number from some offcut I found in my stash. I have actually worn it a lot, although the neckline gapes a little. Here on the pictures I am trying to compensate with posture… In no way do I have to hold on to the bar in order not too fall over!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The slightly mad look on my face can only be explained by the lack of a barkeeper, don’t you think? And how about those shoes? Aren’t they great? I think I am all in love with them 🙂 .

So what do you think: Is there a future for me and trouser sewing?

4 thoughts on “Burda 11/2012 #107: Trouser Sewing Conquered?

  1. SewingElle May 6, 2013 at 11:38 pm Reply

    Certainly. And you are wearing another great colour!

  2. […] a few frustrating tries in trouser sewing and some years’ break I have only recently returned to making trousers. Turns out I did not get on too badly and I got some really nice comments from you guys about my first attempt (thank you ), so I […]

  3. […] The pattern I chose is my favourite trouser pattern (out of a sample size of 2) – it’s Burdastyle 11/12 #107, made before here and here. It does not have the typical jeans back yoke, so I am not sure it even qualifies, but […]

  4. […] just normal trousers without any special features – but this is version 5 of this pattern (version 1, 2 and 3 are here, version 4 in the making is here) and they are now my most favourite pair of […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

