Learning to Sew Trousers: Burda 11/2012 #107

As promised I am taking the bull by the horns and have started my first attempt at sewing trousers in years. The last few attempts were rather sorry affairs and really I am none that wiser and have no more experience in customising patterns than last time – but hey, one can but try.
As my pattern I chose some really simple, staple trousers from Burda 11/2012: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am making view ABC (as far as I can see there is no difference between the three). Owning to my current obsession with coral I have chosen a fabric that, for better or worse, will not be overlooked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So everything is set up, apart from real ideas for tackling those fit issues. In the absence of better ideas I have:

  • cut one size larger than my normal size to have a little more material to play with. As far as I can tell, the difference between two sizes is simply more room around the sides of the legs, so any excessive “legroom” should quickly be taken in.
  • widened the back darts. My thinking is that this will act as a sort of swayback adjustment (do you know that I still don’t even know what a swayback adjustment is in German. Crazy, isn’t it??!!). In addition, the patterns has the benefit of sewing the middle seam as the last step, so if the sizing doesn’t quite fit I can still adapt it a little last thing.

I have traced, cut and sewed the front pocket in not even 90 minutes. The rest is simple enough, so assuming the zip goes in with no problem (which it should, but somehow zips seem to have a mind of their own) the whole trousers should be completed in another couple of hours. If this trouser sewing business works, I never have to go to a shop again!!

How about you: Do you sew your own trousers? Any tips to the novice? Any advice will be gladly received!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Learning to Sew Trousers: Burda 11/2012 #107

  1. sewbusylizzy May 2, 2013 at 11:41 pm Reply

    I’ve only made trousers a couple of times. Maria Denmark directed me to an online Threads tutorial about fly front zipper insertions and it was excellent. Sorry I can’t remember the hyperlink but I’m sure if you google it you will find it – that’s what I did!
    Good luck!

    • Chris May 3, 2013 at 3:52 pm Reply

      Lizzy, the link for the tutorial is amazing! Thank you so much. I never thought of putting in the interfacing, but now I can soo how that makes all the sense in the world. Brilliant!

      • sewbusylizzy May 3, 2013 at 4:36 pm

        Oh I’m so glad it helped. I went from idiot to genius watching that LOL.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

