Burda 1/2013 #107: Vintage Inspired Sundress – Work in Progress

I am not sure that anybody cares at all about my sewing – but if you don’t try you will never know, as my granny used to say. So I thought I show you my latest project, a vintage inspired sundress. This also my second project using the fabrics I bought on last weekend’s visit to Fürth Fabric Market. So you see, I am not just buying stuff! I do use some up as well!

As I don’t have any actual vintage patterns, I went fusion between recent Burdastyle and timeless Bavarian dirndl style.
I started off by taking the bodice from this Burdastyle 1/2013 #107:

Don’t you think the sweetheart neckline is just that – very sweet? However, I felt that the fashion shoot showed that the neckline would gape a little, so I shortened the inside neckline a little to make it sit closer to the body.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was not too sure whether to add a petticoat style skirt, but because I have a petticoat project in the pipeline I opted for a dirndl style skirt. It is still a bit of a mess as I have not yet ripped the gathering stitches, but I think you can see where this is going to go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt is a bit of a departure for me as I tend to prefer a more tailored look, but on the dressform I think I quite like it. Is that normal to have to convince yourself that you like something new? Or is it just me being inflexible 😉 ?

The bodice came together really well and I had to make no fit changes at all apart from the neckline front. I suppose that was my way of doing a SBA without any scary interference with the bustline…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The piping is the first project I made with the aid of my brand new piping foot. Ever since I learned how to make my own piping rather than having to use the restricted range of shop-bought piping I am crazy about it. Maybe somebody needs to tell me to stop 😉 .

So at this point there are still a few things to ponder:  the length, for one thing. Right now it is too long, which makes the whole dress more Bavarian dirndl old-fashioned than vintage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then the belt-question, again. What do you think? Should I go for a small belt, just to accentuate the waist?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOr rather a tie-belt, either from the blue fashion fabric or the red accent fabric? Any opinions?

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “Burda 1/2013 #107: Vintage Inspired Sundress – Work in Progress

  1. sewbusylizzy April 29, 2013 at 4:42 pm Reply

    I love that neckline. I like the belt too, I think it ties in nicely with the piping and defines the waist better than the tie belt.

  2. Anne W April 29, 2013 at 5:28 pm Reply

    I like the belt, it finishes the outfit off nicely.

  3. Chris April 29, 2013 at 6:06 pm Reply

    Thanks sewbusylizzy and Anne! Yeah, I think the belt looks better too. Maybe I will try my hand at making my own belt from the red contrast fabric? The original Burda dress has an instruction so maybe that is my chance to try something new.

  4. Megan April 29, 2013 at 6:32 pm Reply

    I like the neckline a lot, and i like it a lot better with the slightly gathered skirt than the pencil one. I also prefer the belt to the tie. It looks great.

  5. rosyragpatch April 29, 2013 at 9:28 pm Reply

    I like the belt a lot – the red is good. I’m very keen on the piping; I think that makes the dress special. It looks lovely.

  6. juebejue May 1, 2013 at 7:33 am Reply

    i love the neck line!!! well done 🙂 i vote for the skinny belt!

    • Chris May 1, 2013 at 9:01 pm Reply

      Thank you soo much for your lovely comments! The vote for the skinny belt was pretty clear, so the skinny belt it is! Now I have just to wait for the zipper I ordered to arrive to finish the dress and some sunshine to try it out!

  7. ooobop! July 6, 2013 at 8:34 am Reply

    Its lovely Chris. Everything about it. Very interested to know if the gaping issue was solved. And in any case looking forward to seeing you model it! 🙂

    • Chris July 8, 2013 at 11:52 am Reply

      Gaping issue resolved, I think 🙂 . Still I am not sure if I am loving this dress or not. I have only worn it once so far (until recently it’s simply been to cold, sad but true) but as soon as I get some pictures I will demonstrate!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

