My Journey in Quilts: Part 1

I am never sure which I prefer: dressmaking or sewing for the home. Both have their attractions, both their disadvantages.
One great thing about a quilt is its longevity: you can keep it forever, no matter how young or old, big or thin you are and will travel with you on your life’s journey in a way that most clothes wont. Or at least that is what I would like to think and it’s why I made a quilt for each of my children and my husband.
So here I would like to show you my journey in quilts. I’m glad you are coming along!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the quilt I made for one of my sons. The pattern comes from my favourite quilt book (disclaimer: I don’t know that many books, but this is my favourite one 🙂 ) “Caravan of Quilts” by Kaffe Fassett. I really love the way he makes the most spectacular patterns from a small number of individual pattern parts. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the pattern, as I had to return the book to the library. I didn’t use the Fassett (style) fabrics though – they are so bright it is a step too far for me and especially for my son…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Here you can see: it’s just three shapes, a triangle, a strip and a diamond that make the pattern. So simple, yet I could never have thought of it myself.
The fabrics came all from my stash and almost all of them where leftover pieces from some other project that I have done over the years. Somehow that seems to give the quilt more meaning than using new fabric, don’t you think? Or am I being sentimental here?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne quilting task I have yet to master is the actual quilting process. I don’t like hand sewing a lot, for me it lacks the meditative quality that machine piecing has, but I have never really got the hang of machine quilting. So on this quilt I only picked out hte white stars on the front using navy quilting thread. It does not really show on the picture – and to be honest it hardly shows in real life either. I adorned the quilt with some hand embroidery, my son’s name and year of birth.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

