Burda 2/2013 #126 : Raglan Gathered Top

Everybody in Blogland made it, so I thought I will try my hand too on the raglan gathered top.IMG_2397IMG_2405

Like most other bloggers I think this is a great little pattern that I am sure I will make again. Doing it in two colours like above has allowed me to use two fabric leftovers that I have always been to greedy to bin yet never knew what to do with, so that is another thing that really pleased me.

I did have a few problems with the neckline binding, like so many others. I thought the length Burda specified for the binding was just a little too long and so on my first attempt the neckline would not sit flat against the body. I cut the whole binding off and made another one which was quite a bit shorter and that seemed to work better.IMG_2401

It still is not completely flat, but it’s definitely wearable. And next time I know and will make the binding even shorter. Oh yes, and the whole top needs to lose a bit of the length I think – so lots of room for improvement next time around 🙂

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Burda 2/2013 #126 : Raglan Gathered Top

  1. Tia Dia April 17, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

    Love this! What a great print for the bodice and the contrasting sleeves sure make it pop!

  2. Chris April 17, 2013 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Thanks, Tia Dia. Glad that you like it!

  3. SewingElle May 3, 2013 at 12:52 am Reply

    I like this a lot. I wasn’t so happy with my version of this pattern, but I have been wondering about giving it another try with contrasting fabrics. Hope mine turns out as well as yours!

    • Chris May 3, 2013 at 3:44 pm Reply

      Thanks Elle! I have now made the top three more times, so I can firmly it’s becoming a favourite of mine. Make sure you show your next version on your blog – I would love to see it.

  4. […] wearing another version of the ubiquitous Burda raglan top (I blogged about my first version here) and a Burda pencil skirt. It’s a few years old, so I don’t remember the issue it came […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

