Burda 8/2012 #121 : Colour Block Dress – Update

I promised pictures of my colour block dress with me actually in it – last time I was ever so shy about modelling it. Well, I am still not sure about how to do the posing bit, but in the absence of any bright idea on modelling I just had DH take a few pictures…

So here is my version of the Burda dress in the flesh: There is me trying to look “neutral” 😉

IMG_2421IMG_2419

And here the exposed zip again – I do rather like it.

IMG_2423  IMG_2424

I wore the dress for the first time today and I have to say I really like it. I got a lot of compliments as well and what is at least as good is that the dress is really comfortable. It is fitted, but I made it from ponte knit (rather than the woven that the pattern specifies) and so it is not restrictive at all.

I have never had a white dress, I always considered this to be simply too impractical, but I was extra careful at school today (only using white chalk, not wiping my hands, no horrible red marker pens etc) and so I came through the day unblemished.

So I would consider this a sewing success – which is as well, because the last dress I made was an epic fail…

One thing I do wonder about: Should I wear this dress with or without a belt? What do you think?

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Burda 8/2012 #121 : Colour Block Dress – Update

  1. juebejue April 12, 2013 at 10:43 pm Reply

    i like this dress on you! 🙂 I say without a belt so it doesnt break the clean black and white lines. but i havent seen the belted version on you so maybe it would be awesome as well!

  2. Chris April 17, 2013 at 7:52 pm Reply

    Thank you juebejue! I think you are right about the no belt solution – I have tried with some black belts I already own but there wasn’t one that looked quite right. So unbelted it is so far 🙂

  3. […] no new sewing projects just yet – my excitement comes from an old project, my colour block dress. It’s featured on the German Burda community page right […]

  4. […] is the summer version of the colour block dress I made a few weeks ago. This time I decided not to line the dress as I did not want to add any heat inducing layers. […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

