Burda 11/2011 #114: Zen Wrapover Top

This has been an almost Zen-like experience: the wrap over top from November 2011’s Burda.

IMG_2360

The construction is very easy indeed, especially on an overlocker. I didn’t even trace any lines onto the fabric, just roughly cut it out and let the overlocker do the rest. Also I used the most adorable fabric with Japanese maidens making tea or playing drums or some sort of zen activity. So I got into the zone as well – do you know the type of sewing where everything goes as it should, no drama, no unpicking, no staring at Burda instructions wondering if you will ever make sense of them – wonderful!

I guess I enjoyed the sewing even more than wearing the top. Don’t get me wrong, I do like it, but maybe it is just a little bit too slouchy around the neckline for my taste.

IMG_2361IMG_2364

Of course that is not the fault of the pattern, I think mine came out just like Burda intended. Oh, I did make it in size 38 rather than my usual 40 and I think that was quite a good decision as the pattern has rather a lot of ease. I am debating whether to take the sides in a little more – what do you think?

On a by-note and on looking through Burda 11/2011 again: Isn’t that just a cracking issue! I still lust after the rouched dress  and I have some red ponte jersey waiting to be turned into just that dress. Look how the Slapdash Sewist made the dress. Isn’t that just brilliant. I want mine just like that. If the weather stays as cold as that I might just about make the dress coming up for May…

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

