Sweaters for Spring

Yep, it’s sad but true: we are having the kind of spring here in Germany that makes it necessary to wear sweaters! It’s been so cold  – I went for a walk today in temperatures just above freezing… So all my spring clothes stay firmly in the cupboard and instead I have been busy making a couple of sweaters. No 1 is from issue 53 of Rebecca. and the pattern for No 2 is from some back issue of Verena, I can’t quite remember which one. Both Rebecca and Verena are German knitting magazines – I don’t know whether they might be available in other countries or other languages.

Normally, I like knitting sweaters more than wearing them, because I often find them too hot. But in current weather conditions maybe my knitting production comes in just right.  So this is no 1: A cut we Germans call “vokuhila” (vorn kurz, hinten lang – short at the front, long in the back).

The yarn is a special design from a IMG_2373wonderful seller who designs her own yarns. The picture does not do it justice: it’s a mixture of cream white with a light green and touches of lilac and ever so light. It really does make you think of spring, even though I almost got frostbite when taking the pictures.

IMG_2382

When looking at the pictures I thought the cut of the sweater makes me look just a liiittle bit pregnant, so to prove I am not I have added a belt with sweater no 2 ;-).

IMG_2387

I am having a major love affair with all shades of yellow at the moment, even though I am not sure it is a good colour on me. This shade of mustard/curry has been in the shops for months now, so maybe I at least be a fashion victim? What do you think?

IMG_2392

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

